Burning a DVD+R

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Y05h1, Nov 23, 2008.

Nov 23, 2008

Burning a DVD+R by Y05h1 at 3:40 PM (1,182 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Y05h1
    OP

    Member Y05h1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Finland
    Well, I've got an ISO, but unfortunately for me, it's the optimal size (4,699,979,776 bytes). For a DVD-R!
    Now, that shouldn't be a problem, but a DVD+R has a slightly smaller capacity than a DVD-R, so, it just won't fit. We aren't talking about huge amounts, just a few megs. So I was wondering if anyone knows how I could get it burnt on my DVD+R?

    The obvious solution would be to buy a DVD-R, but I'd rather use my DVD+R's, since I have a huge stack of them.

    I considered trying to overburn it, but that probably wouldn't work.

    Really, what I need is for someone to come up with a solution that I can decrease the size of the iso

    Any help would really be appreciated! (I doubt I'm the only one with the problem, and someone may already have asked how, but really, I tried searching, and it proved impossible... because of the "+", which won't turn up in a search)
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Never heard about that problem. I'm only using DVD+R discs, it's all working just fine
     
  3. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    The DVD +R and DVD -R doesn't matter, right? What about DVD RAM ?
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    dvd-ram is quite different, I don't think that will work
     
  5. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I can use DVD-R or DVD+r but how do you know that DVD RAM will not work ?
     
  6. Captin

    Newcomer Captin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DVD-RAM is a completely different kind of disk to DVD-R & DVD+R. Not all DVD drives can access a DVD-RAM disk, including the Wii.
    Most Wii disks are 4,699,979,776 bytes and they fit on ether DVD-R or DVD+R.
    Use imageburn to write the disk.
     
  7. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, thank you. [​IMG]
     
  8. Y05h1
    OP

    Member Y05h1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Finland
    Maybe I was wrong, but whenever I try burning an iso, I get a message that it's too big. I use a mac by the way, have tried burning with Toast and Disc Utility, neither work. And I use Sony DVD+R's.
     
  9. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Did you change the Book Type to DVD-ROM??? are in the option:Burn an Image File (or .iso)??? I can only use DVD+R because of my burner, and they work, Nero doesn't even show m the size of the Disc nor the .iso
     

Share This Page