Bricked?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dream_coder, Aug 22, 2009.

Aug 22, 2009

Bricked? by dream_coder at 5:36 PM (2,161 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. dream_coder
    OP

    Newcomer dream_coder Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I softmoded my wii yesterday using the guide from #wiihack.. it all was fine running spot on, then today one of the kids managed to uninstall CIOS60BF.wad i caught them just as they did it anyways i reinstalled it straight away but now i get a error when i boot my wii it says system files r corrupted i need helpppp seriously [​IMG] i thought bout installing following the guide again using the ios downgrader but as my wii isnt set up to access the internet and i cant get into the settings to connect it i am stuck [​IMG] please help me ps i can get into preloader 0.29
     


  2. Izzy

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    You've got to specify a bit more than that... What System Menu Are you running, did you do the Bannerbomb mod, etc etc...
     
  3. dream_coder
    OP

    Newcomer dream_coder Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its 4.1e and i used this guide :


    -UPDATING TO 4.1-

    (A) NECESSITIES:
    1. A Wii with an internet connection (wired or wireless).
    1. 4.1 Update.rar
    2. Clean FAT formatted SD Card.

    (B) STEPS:
    1. Extract 4.1 Update.rar to the root of your SD Card.
    -(If the first two letters of your Wii's serial number are LU: rename 41USAhacks.ini to hacks.ini
    if they are LEH: rename 41PALhacks.ini to hacks.ini)
    2. Do an officlal Update. (Wii Options, Wii Settings, Wii System Update).
    3. Go into Wii Options, Data Management, Channels. It should ask to load boot.elf, do so and install the HomeBrew Channel and BootMii.
    -(install BootMii as boot2 if you can, but if not as IOS will work).
    4. Launch BootMii*. Click the 4th icon (it looks like gears) and backup your NAND. (Have 528mb free on the SD Card).
    5. Go into the HBC, run CMDVDX34. Choose Downgrade IOS35.
    -(if it says something about being a pirate, uninstall all your pirat(ed/ing) materials, and run shared2clean from HBC).
    -(if it says "failed to add title......", get back into HBC, run WMIOS35, install IOS35-64-v1040.wad, then reboot with the HOME button).
    6. Click Exit.
    7. Get back into HBC, run WMIOS35, install cios_fix.wad with the + button, then reboot with the HOME button.
    -(if you get a -2011 or -1035 error, skip this step and proceed directly to step #8).
    8. Make sure the internet connection for your Wii is set up, get back into HBC, run IOS DOWNGRADER V1.1, reboot when it's done.
    NOW WE CAN INSTALL WADs
    9. Get back into HBC, run WadManager, install CIOS60BF.wad with the + button, then reboot with the HOME button.
    10. Get back into HBC, run Preloader. Press 1 to install, now you should be at the Preloader menu**. Set it up as follows:
    -Go into Settings, change:
    AutoBoot: System Menu
    Stop Disc: On
    Ignore Standby Mode: On
    -then click Save Settings and press B.
    -Then go into SystemMenu Hacks, enable AT LEAST these hacks:
    "Skip disc update check"
    "Remove diag disc check"
    "Remove NoCopy Protection"
    -The RegionFree hacks are optional and up to you.
    -then click Save Settings and press B. Then click System Menu.
    11. Get back into HBC, run cmios Installer. Press any button to reboot when finished.
    ***12. Get back into HBC, run cIOSCORP v3.3 Installer. Press any button to reboot when finished.
    13. Get back into HBC, run DVDX Fix Installer (if you want DVDX installed). Press any button to reboot with finished.

    *-If you installed as boot2, reboot the Wii and BootMii should boot. If installed as IOS, go into HBC, press Home and click Launch BootMii If installed as boot2, use an NGC controller or the Power/Reset/Eject buttons on the Wii to get through the options, if IOS then NGC Pad only.

    **-If it didn't take you to the Preloader menu automatically, turn the Wii off then back on and immediately hold reset.

    ***-For more info on the cIOSCORP v3.3 and cmios installer, read cIOSCORP readme.txt in root!!!


    Â LINKS:
    1. 4.1 Update.rar - http://www.tinyurl.com/41update
    2. This Guide - http://www.tinyurl.com/41update
    3. BootMii/HackMii Installer Beta2 - http://bootmii.org/download/
    4. BannerBomb - http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/
    5. cIOSCORP v3.3 - http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=173466&st=0
     
  4. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    wow, you did a classic no-no.

    you uninstalled IOS60, which uninstalled preloader.
    your only hope is bootmii.
     
  5. Izzy

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    Waiting for dream_coder to write he installed it as boot2 and not ios. >__
     
  6. dream_coder
    OP

    Newcomer dream_coder Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah thats true also .. so its knackered then? i can get into preloader and hbc
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yea unless you get a modchip and play brawl to ues the smashstack exploit, then run wad manager to install install IOS60.
    i got a drivekey for sale for $35.
    let me know via pm.
     
  8. dream_coder
    OP

    Newcomer dream_coder Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i reinstalled ios60 just after they uninstalled it but hasnt made a difference
     
  9. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    because you have to boot into wad manager once again after you wii has rebooted
    you uninstalled then installed on the same run.
     
  10. djda

    Member djda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Barbados
    Yo cant u read his post he can get into preloader and hbc how is he screwed? could he just not reinstall the IOS 60 wad then install the system menu wad or vice versa.
     
  11. Izzy

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    If he can, probably yes.
    After that, try to keep your kids away from IOS60, or the whole Wii. [​IMG]
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    im almost positive his "kids" didnt to this.
    yea if he can boot into preloader then he's good, i didnt know if he could.
    all he might need to do is change the IOS the system menu boots to to 30, then back to 60.
     
  13. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    If he can still get into preloader then it wasnt ios60 that got deleted.
     
  14. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just re-install preloader.29 same thing happens when you install preloader.29 and then install the trucha patched IOS60 thought people would know that??
     
  15. dream_coder
    OP

    Newcomer dream_coder Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly if i did do this and if it wasnt ios60 that was uninstalled then dont u think i wud kno what i uninstalled? and why on earth wud i risk bricking my own wii when it was working spot on? (doesnt make sense)



    If anyone could give me a step by step guide please i would be really grateful [​IMG]

    And kids wont be using wii after this too stressful [​IMG]
     
  16. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    The IOS60 you installed doesn't have ES_DIVerifiy.
    Preloader needs ES_DIVerifiy in IOS60 and applies a patch when you install it.

    Just hold the Reset Button to get into the preloader menu, boot into Homebrew Channel, and reinstall Preloader so it can apply the patch again.

    Good thing you reinstalled IOS60 right after, otherwise, you'd have a full brick.
     
  17. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    that's what I said on the other page
     
  18. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    +1

    Yep just download a copy of preloader 0.29 from wiibrew and place in your apps folder (if its no longer there), boot into preloader (hold reset on startup), select load HBC, then select preloader and reinstall it (press 1 when the warning message comes up), then reboot.

    Didn't mean to suggest this a 3rd time, but since it was suggested twice and he hadn't acted on it, I figured I would spell it out step by step.
     
  19. dream_coder
    OP

    Newcomer dream_coder Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All done.. reinstalled system menu and then reinstalled preloader [​IMG] thanks
     
  20. spacedkadet

    Newcomer spacedkadet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and if your kids are messing with it then it would be a good idea to remove from the sd card all the apps that can effect the system integrity. I leave everything i install on my own wii on the card but when i softmod for others (done lots) i always remove stuff like cios, preloader, tbr, wadmanager etc from the sd card so that the people that own the wii can't go in and kill it whilst being curious heh!
     

Share This Page