1. Kippykip

    OP Kippykip j e f f
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Australia
    So I recently just got a Modbo 5 + a Slim PS2.
    I installed it fine without any problems, had fun sticking a bunch of burned games etc.
    So basically, I put a NTSC PS1 Crash Team Racing in there, and noticed it was running at 50hz.
    Then I went in the Modbo 5 settings (Triangle + Circle) and changed most of the "fix" things to off and set the PS2 to NTSC.

    Rebooted, still played in 50hz. So I changed one more setting, the DVD region from 8 to 1.
    Rebooted and infinity logo, then the PS2 turns off? Try turning it back on........... nothing.........

    The PS2 is now bricked? Tried turning it on without anything plugged in, nothing. Tried booting it with the cd cover open and, nothing again.
    Opened it back up, cut power to the modchip. Turned it back on and still nothing. Took the battery out and tried again, nothing.

    What happened? Did I just fry the PS2 with a single setting?
    Has this happened to anyone else?
    Sucks too as I just spent about 4 hours soldering this chip and just spent $70 on this slim PS2.

    Couldn't find any shorts anywhere in the wiring, really stumped on what could've happened here.
     
  2. Kippykip
    This message by Kippykip has been removed from public view by porkiewpyne, May 30, 2018, Reason: Unnecessary bump.
    May 30, 2018
  3. comput3rus3r
    This message by comput3rus3r has been removed from public view by porkiewpyne, May 30, 2018, Reason: Unnecessary bump.
    May 30, 2018
  4. DRAGONBALLVINTAGE

    DRAGONBALLVINTAGE The GBATemp Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    734
    Country:
    United States
    Wish I could help!

    How is modchips vs fmcb
     
  5. Kippykip

    OP Kippykip j e f f
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Australia
    When it was working, it had a bit of a menu where I could boot homebrew or boot from a harddrive or something. I turned that option off so it goes straight to the old boot screen.
    You can play burned PS1/PS2 games straight up with a physical modchip, while with FMCB you have to patch a PS2 game prior, and it has to be on a DVD disc, plus some games are just not compatible (such as half-life, rachet and clank 3 etc). The only way to play PS1 games with FMCB is to use a leaked PS1 emulator thing, and play the games off a USB stick or something.

    Burned PS1 games do work straight up, although I did notice burned PS1 games don't show the PS1 boot screen, it just skips to the game. Also the PS1 game region doesn't seem to be affected, in my case I have a PAL PS2 and it'll always boot NTSC PS1 games as PAL.
    Other than that, both mods do the same thing as each other really.
     
    DRAGONBALLVINTAGE likes this.
  6. Kippykip

    OP Kippykip j e f f
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Australia
    Just completely removed the modchip, can't see any issues with the joints I connected to (even used a voltmeter)
    Still black screen, tried doing the "blind YPbPr" thing, nothing.
    I still don't understand what exactly killed it, is it known for Modbo chips (or clones) to brick the PS2 itself?
    EDIT: it's still reading discs, although since I have no video + audio I have no idea whether it's actually doing anything.
     
    Last edited by Kippykip, May 30, 2018
  7. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,230
    Country:
    Italy
    Chips just connect in parallel to the bus, and listen to the data that passes - until they are going to change something, and they do that by shorting lines to power or ground to make 1s or 0s...

    This is far from ideal, electrically (but avoids doubling the amount of wires and tripling the work to install - you would have to break traces and connect to both sides of the cut, of course to a completely new chip design) and on paper it's possible that something will give sooner or later; in fact, some PS2 models are known for having weak resistor packs that are more likely to be damaged by the chip's action (intentionally or as extreme cost cutting, is something hard to prove)
     
    Kippykip likes this.
  8. Kippykip

    OP Kippykip j e f f
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Australia
    It's weird to bump this old thread, but for context I bought another PS2 slim and installed the same type of modchip not long after this thread started.
    And has been working fine the past two years, until today I went to turn it on (haven't honestly powered it up in months though) and yep, this ones having the same issue now.
    I'm just gonna assume that those chinese Modbo 5 clones brick PS2 Slims overtime, I checked the fuses and they seem to be ok on both models.

    F
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. Armadillo

    Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,048
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't see this thread first time around. Not just clones, I had a similar issue with an original matrix infinity on my v15 slim. Installed it, was fine for ages, the one day nothing. PS2 would turn on, fan would ramp up, but just a black screen.

    That was back when the ps2 was current and original chips were easy to come by. I never saw mass complaints of it then & even now I don't. So I wonder if it's the chip or the slim ps2s are just cheaply made and got unluckly.
     
    Last edited by Armadillo, Aug 6, 2020
    Kippykip and alexander1970 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - changing, Bricked, setting