Brick wii need help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cerebus, Oct 5, 2009.

Oct 5, 2009

Brick wii need help by cerebus at 6:16 AM (993 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. cerebus
    OP

    Newcomer cerebus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok here's my situation

    I use to be on 3.2 with starfall

    Decided to update to waninkoko 4.1 but it didn't work then read I needed to update first to 4.0 (cause I was looking for a way to make my RB guitar and drum to work with RBBeatles only got the GH guitar to work from disc wasn't ready to switch to usbloader yet don't have a drive)

    So I looked for a tutorial and found the Wii Brew one

    so first installed waninkoko 4.0 worked fine, then after reboot went to install ios60 patched but forgot to deny the wiistore part, when I came out of homebrew channel my screen was black so in other words BRICK same thing when I reboot.

    Of course Starfall is useless since I just updated and I tried to access the recovery menu with the gamecube port 4 press up-down-rgt-lft all together but it won't work maybe because I only have a GC wavebird

    Now I ran out of option!

    Well I still have the send it to Nintendo option (I still have a month of warranty, would be the third time I send it) but there is no way I can delete my neo gamma channel and homebrew channel so I'm afraid they will void my warranty

    Since I'm now stuck and ran out of option and can't find anything on the net or here, well I'm posting here asking for help

    So if anybody has a solution or advise please let me know

    Big thanx
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Since you're fully bricked Nintendo won't be able to see anything that's on your Wii. You'll be okay
     
  3. cerebus
    OP

    Newcomer cerebus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    really cool, that means I'll get an extra year of warranty (third time)

    otherwise nothing I can do on my side? to access the recovery menu
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You can access it all you like, but you won't be able to autoboot anything since you no longer have that patch applied to your system menu.

    Just tell Nintendo that the power went out while updating. Again.
     
  5. cerebus
    OP

    Newcomer cerebus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    First time was read error and second time the drive died

    That's a good one, I lost a computer that way why not a Wii

    Thanx good call [​IMG]

    To bad I'll loose all my save game, haven't backuped in a while
     
  6. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    IOS60 Patcher Strikes again ...


    This has bricked quite a few Wii's since the 4.2 update [​IMG]
     
  7. cerebus
    OP

    Newcomer cerebus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    well at least now I know what to do (preloader)

    and I'm gonna get an extra year of warranty so it's actually good [​IMG]
     
  8. cerebus
    OP

    Newcomer cerebus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    you are sure they can't see anything, don't they have ways to see what is on the drive?
     
  9. uimy

    Newcomer uimy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    No, they can't tell what you have on the drive, all they can see is the black screen. Also how does installing IOS61 brick the system? it isn't needed to run the Wii right?
     
  10. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually if they were desperate, they could run it through a NAND programmer and have a look.
    Though the chances of them doing that are slim to nil.
     

Share This Page