boot2 downgrade?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Taiten, Feb 16, 2010.

Feb 16, 2010

boot2 downgrade? by Taiten at 10:23 AM (2,855 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Taiten
    OP

    Newcomer Taiten Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible too downgrade the boot2 after it got updated by the 4.2 update?

    i've tried too search for an clear answer to this but usually its a plain No.

    I've stumbled upon a article by bushing about the boot2v4 timing "code".
    With the newer boot2v4 it might cause bricks if downgraded too lower systemmenus because of the timing issues when loading the ios:es.
    So I thought for myself: aint the older boot2 versions better for us who has a hackable boot2 (actually hackable boot1) allowing us to downgrade even lower then 3.2, not that we would want too, just that we have the possibility if we wanted too.

    So back too my original question, is it possible at all? correct me if I'm wrong, but boot2 being writable, aint it then possible too erase boot2 and then write back the older boot2v3 for instance. I'm no coder so I'm just vewing it in a simplistic way and it might be easier said then done.

    Article:
    http://hackmii.com/2009/08/timing-is-every...ftmoddable-wii/

    PS: I'm referring to us that can install bootmii and have a hackable boot1
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    There's no code to install boot2. If you try it with WAD Manager, you either get nothing if you are lucky, or a very bad brick.

    Anyways, the timing problem should be hardware related. If you are on 4.2, and have BootMii as boot2 installed, try this: Get IOS35v1042, delete your IOS35, install v1042 and then start anything that allows to select which IOS to load. If IOS35 works there, you know that the boot2 version is not causing trouble. If it does not work, install the latest IOS35 to fix it.
    If this works there are 0 problems with the new boot2 version, you can even reinstall BootMii to boot2 on it.
     
  3. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I've an old hardware Wii, I mean boot1 is vulnerable and the Wii accept to run old IOSes. (and of course I can install bootmii as boot2)

    I've upgraded this Wii to 4.2, for some reason and in the process I got the new boot2v4.
    This won't remove you the ability to install bootmii as boot2 (since only boot1 is involved in this process)
    This won't cause brick if you downgrade IOSes (tested, and working)
    For me boot2v4 do not cause problems, so I'll keept it as it

    But don't try to downgrade IOSes on new hardware Wii (like the black one): i've test it by dowgrading IOS36... cannot run hombrew anymore
    (don't worry: upgrade your wii, this will install latest IOSes and fix the problem, of course won't help is you messed with systemmenu IOS....)

    Just think and be carefull
     
  4. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    you can't install boot2 via the normal wad installation it will simply fail without doing anything.
    if you really want to install boot2 you need to call a special function but you can't downgrade boot2 as the version is saved in the Wii to prevent downgrading boot2.

    VERY IMPORTANT: no boot2 version will give you an advantage over another! As for bootmii boot1 is the important factor NOT boot2.
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dop-IOS MOD v12 beta has code to install boot2, but only to update it. Its actually the code used to install BootMii in HackMii Installer, courtesy of bushing. But it still can't downgrade it, but there's no reason to do that anyway.
     
  6. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    there is no reason to upgrade boot2 either
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    well, if u were to purposely update your boot2, then reinstall bootmii as boot2, then if u were to accidentally update via ninty in the future it would not touch your boot2... so the only reason to update your boot2 is to prevent event the slightest chance that some idiot updates their wii, then proceeds to brick themselves before reinstalling bootmii as boot2
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I wanted to say the same thing, to prevent an update from overwriting BootMii [​IMG]

    also, it might stop some disc update messages...
     
  9. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    v65535 might be an even better idea if it's possible, that way nintendo could never one-up it.

    I get this idea from having checked versions of CIOSCorp IOS's (although I just go with waninkoko and hermes' IOS's and a loader)
     

Share This Page