Hacking Boot-up question for SKY3DS users

thebestdogs

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
United States
From the website's installation instruction,
4. Initial SKY3DS:
Power on your 3ds console , hold to press red/blue button with finger, insert to 3DS Slot with your sky3ds , it will not display any game icon on screen. Pull out sky3ds and insert to 3DS again , the LED light will flashing fast, the game icon still doesn’t display. Again, pull out sky3ds and insert to 3DS, LED light flashing and turn off in few seconds, this means the first game save data has been read EEPROM normally from MicroSD card, you can play to enjoy it.

Does this needs to be done more than once, such as every time the 3ds is turned on (from being completely powered off)? I really hope not.
 

Oishikatta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
971
Trophies
0
XP
593
Country
United States
I've never had to do that, but I only use sky for CN and simply redo the QR code when the save doesn't show up.
 

Chaldron

GBATemp's Official Attorney
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
434
Trophies
0
Location
`Murica
XP
418
Country
United States
This is for when you want to force loading the EEPROM from the SD Card. Normally, if you shut off the system without changing games, the EEPROM remains intact, and the save data is not transferred to the SD. If you took the SD out then and put it into the computer, you couldn't backup the save you just did, because it's on an older save (ie the EEPROM was not written to the SD). This process you mentioned in your post simply forces the Sky3DS to reload the EEPROM contents from the SD Card. I've personally never even had to do it, because the process is only for specific uses. You can write ROMs, do saving, all the stuff normally without using this process.
 

thebestdogs

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
United States
Ok thanks for clearing that up. The reason I skipped on gateway is because of all the upkeep it seems to need. For example one of you mentioned saves not showing up so I guess that is why backups are needed. I'd much rather just play the games and not have to worry about backups or staring at a ubisoft logo every day. Sky3ds for me.
 

Adeka

Beta Tester
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
4,168
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,623
Country
United States
Ok thanks for clearing that up. The reason I skipped on gateway is because of all the upkeep it seems to need. For example one of you mentioned saves not showing up so I guess that is why backups are needed. I'd much rather just play the games and not have to worry about backups or staring at a ubisoft logo every day. Sky3ds for me.

if your using a flashcart then you need to always keep your saves backed up.
 

thebestdogs

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
United States
There is a chance for everything. Even a chance for the cart to stop working.

Have you never used a flashcart before? Always keep your stuff backed up
It's a bit expensive so I'd hope not. If it breaks any time soon, I won't bother replacing something of such bad quality.
 

tekwarfare

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
188
Country
This is for when you want to force loading the EEPROM from the SD Card. Normally, if you shut off the system without changing games, the EEPROM remains intact, and the save data is not transferred to the SD. If you took the SD out then and put it into the computer, you couldn't backup the save you just did, because it's on an older save (ie the EEPROM was not written to the SD). This process you mentioned in your post simply forces the Sky3DS to reload the EEPROM contents from the SD Card. I've personally never even had to do it, because the process is only for specific uses. You can write ROMs, do saving, all the stuff normally without using this process.


So do you need to change games after playing for EEPROM-YES games to save to the SD card? Can you save your game in-game and turn the console off then change games on next boot up to save the gamesave to the SD card?
What about EEPROM-NO games?
 

Chaldron

GBATemp's Official Attorney
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
434
Trophies
0
Location
`Murica
XP
418
Country
United States
So do you need to change games after playing for EEPROM-YES games to save to the SD card? Can you save your game in-game and turn the console off then change games on next boot up to save the gamesave to the SD card?
What about EEPROM-NO games?


After saving, I believe it's okay to turn off the system without changing games because the EEPROM on the chip still is emulating the game, and thus the save. I'm not 100% sure though, as I usually just tap the button once after saving before turning off to be safe.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tekwarfare

tekwarfare

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
188
Country
After saving, I believe it's okay to turn off the system without changing games because the EEPROM on the chip still is emulating the game, and thus the save. I'm not 100% sure though, as I usually just tap the button once after saving before turning off to be safe.


Thanks. What's your experience with EEPROM-NO and EEPROM-YES games?
 

tekwarfare

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
188
Country
I think all my games are EEPROM-YES according to DiskWriter, so that's the only thing I have experience with. I assume EEPROM-NO games would write directly to the SD Card, but don't quote me on it.


Thanks for your help. Have you had any trouble backing up game saves and restoring them?
 

Chaldron

GBATemp's Official Attorney
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
434
Trophies
0
Location
`Murica
XP
418
Country
United States
Thanks for your help. Have you had any trouble backing up game saves and restoring them?


I haven't encountered any issue backing up or restoring saves, and the DiskWriter makes it very easy to do. However, note that you can't restore Gateway saves downloaded from the Internet unfortunately.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tekwarfare
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    WARIOLOVER57 @ WARIOLOVER57: hi