1. Milenko

    OP Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,502
    Country:
    Australia
    Anyone with the know how interested in making a bochs port for the Switch? Retroarch Dosbox works fine for dos games but there's no option for any Windows based games at the moment.. windows 95 has a terrible time in dosbox

    It's possible as it has been started but never completed

    https://github.com/Stary2001/switch-bochs

     
    alitriple, DSwizzy and mathew77 like this.
  2. stefko13

    stefko13 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    That would be a dream come true. I always wanted to be able to play 1602 A.D: on my Switch and unless there'll be a Windows emulation option or someone will port "Unknown Horizons" (which is a very competent Anno clone) it won't happen.
     
  3. Milenko

    OP Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,502
    Country:
    Australia
  4. Detroitguy22

    Detroitguy22 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I just want to play magic the gathering wring shadalar
     
  5. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried Windows 95 in Bochs on your PC? I understand it aims for accuracy far more than compatibility. If it doesn't run well on your PC, it definitely won't run well on a Switch.
     
  6. Milenko

    OP Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,502
    Country:
    Australia
    Windows 10 works on bochs android so I'm assuming 95 will work
     
    Newhouse-Estates likes this.
  7. Detroitguy22

    Detroitguy22 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Can it be done can it
     
  8. Newhouse-Estates

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    Would be pretty sweet to play the first 2 age of empires on the switch.
     
  9. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    Canada
    When it comes to things like this, the question you have to ask is: don't you think everyone would be doing this already if it was even slightly difficult to do?

    Like I said, just try running Windows in Bochs on your desktop PC and see how well that goes.
     
  10. Detroitguy22

    Detroitguy22 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    The video in op shows it works?? and someone just has to finish the gitjub linked?? I can't code or compile so I can't help at all inwpuld if I could
     
  11. Detroitguy22
    This message by Detroitguy22 has been removed from public view by Joe88, May 15, 2021, Reason: Thread bumping.
    May 15, 2021
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Bochs,