Banner Brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AetherMaster, Nov 22, 2008.

Nov 22, 2008

Banner Brick by AetherMaster at 8:01 PM (2,355 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Yesterday, I made my own WAD, but I accidentally banner bricked my Wii. I searched the forums, but nothing I found can help me. I don't have a modchip, I'm on System menu version 3.3U, I don't have the Twilight hack installed, I have the Homebrew Channel Installed, and I have SaveMii. Is there any possible way to undo this brick from where I stand without buying a modchip? If so, could somebody please tell me how to do this? Thanks for any help.
     


  2. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Only way to fix it is to get a game with a higher update then what your wii is in right now.
     
  3. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    How would that fix it? It was installed by a WAD, it's not a faulty System Menu.
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A new menu update won't save you. you will need to remove the wad, but I'm guessing you know that and yes you will need a chip.

    I suggest a no solder clip and chip combo.


    [​IMG]
    Don't tell people to install things if you are unsure, you could make a situation worse. If you post an opinion then use words like "think" so no one follows advise without double checking.

    "Help when you can, learn when you can't"
     
  5. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah that was some horrible advice LG
     
  6. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    ya wii clip and um I dont know a wiikey 2.I had forgot he said wad brick sorry try better next time.
     
  7. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure he meant, erm didn't mean it...

    One thing, again............"WHY" on earth did you F""k with custom banners when you aren't "safe and prepared"??

    You don't have the TP hack..?
    Not on v3.2 with "starfall patches"
    Don't have a chip


    (Savemiifrii wont help you as well)

    Genuine mistake, but messing with editing custom banners etc, leads to this "Problem" and now it's hard for you to recover, regret anything now...?

    Wont anyone ever "Learn" "YOU KNOW THE DANGERS!!"

    Noobwarrior again....."You're favourite subject here"
     
  8. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    u need a modchip so that u can auto-boot a recovery disk or wad uninstaller

    but u said u had a "SaveMii" is that the device that boots directly into HBC9? If u can boot into the homebrew channel, just dload a wad uninstaller and boot it ...
     
  9. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WTF.....NO
    it goes into your controller port! (and that "Wont help at this time""
     
  10. LegendaryXM90

    Member LegendaryXM90 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    You're confusing SaveMii with BootMii.
     
  11. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He was confused, Bootmii needs to be installed with a "working" wii and yea it does boot into HBC
     
  12. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it looks like I'll be getting a modchip, then, if it's really my only option. What is a good chip for a GC2-DMS drive with pins that are not cut that supports autoboot disks?
     
  13. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all chips support autoboot, they just don't claim it, you can autoboot anything you want, games, applications made iso's [​IMG] but you can autoboot by patching your image through "bootme" an application downloadable from wiibrew.

    Good Look!

    Hope this is a lesson to all the others, we have seen many bricks past few days!
     
  14. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thank you. I'll be ordering a modchip soon. Just to be clear, is the Wiikey a good one?
     
  15. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Bump. I ordered my Wiikey yesterday, but now I'm reading and I hear that even THAT won't help me since I'm on 3.3 System menu? Could someone confirm or deny this please?
     
  16. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Wheres this link to bootmii? The only page I can find says its not released [​IMG]
     
  17. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    It's not released yet to my knowledge.

    Is anybody able to answer my question please?
     
  18. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry guys i meant bootme download off wiibrew.org
     
  19. AetherMaster
    OP

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I download bootme and patch....Zelda, is it? I don't have the twilight hack installed, so how will that help me? (I'm really sorry for all the questions, I just need things to be cleared up)
     
  20. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "why" you are stuffed for some time yet, you don't even have the TP Hack, and on 3.3
     

Share This Page