Backup using NDS-XL

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by uncle1973, Jul 30, 2010.

Jul 30, 2010

Backup using NDS-XL by uncle1973 at 11:58 PM (1,734 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. uncle1973
    OP

Newcomer uncle1973 Newbie

Denmark
    Hello

I am a newbie in the NDS-world, and are looking for help on the backup issue.
    I bought a nintendo XL for my daughter (who is 11), and wish to make a backup of her expensive game-roms, and savegames.
    To get help, I joined a couple of forums, where I was suggested different solutions, going from downloading the games *.nds files(which I am against and will not do), to connect via wireless to a local FTP-server(which appearently do not work with the XL, I couldn't make it work anyway).

I hope there are one in this forum, who can give me a pointer on, what will work with the XL. if anything.
    Do there exist a homebrew solution, or does there not exist any way that will work with the XL?
    Maybe a PC-reader for roms are the solution, what works??

Hope you guys out there will help a newbie?

Best regards

2. Sterling

Member Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero

United States
    I am sort of confused as to what you're asking. You want to back up physical game roms, and game saves on your computer correct? Well to start, you should probably invest in a flash cart. This allows game roms to be played on your system (NDSi XL). Then you should find a way to dump your daughter's games/game saves. I know of a game save dumper: NDS Adapter Plus Review. I can't help you with a game rom dumper, as the only solution I know of is a slot two homebrew dumper, and the XL has no slot two. Outside of actually downloading the roms (Which you don't want to do), I can't help you with anything else, though another temper may be able to help. Also wrong section.

3. uncle1973
    OP

Denmark
    Hello again

I have already ordered the flash card, I "Just" need to figure out how to backup games.