Backup my Nand

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kizer8, Aug 25, 2009.

Aug 25, 2009

Backup my Nand by kizer8 at 3:23 PM (1,660 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. kizer8
    OP

    Newcomer kizer8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, if this has been asked before. If it has please link me to the other topic. I have bootmi, but I don't have the ability to load it as boot2 and only as IOS. What app can I use to backup my nand without bootmii as boot2?

    Thanks,
    Kizer
     
  2. Deviyl

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    Why wouldn't you use BootMii as IOS to back up your NAND..? Install it, visit HBC, press home button, launch BootMii...

    You just need a gamecube controller to navigate the menu. $15 bucks to ensure your Wii stays safe-- good investment in my opinion.
     
  3. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    When you´re using BootMii v0.3 then you would be able to backup your Nand without GC controller though.

    But anyways in case of a restore you will need it...
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Please keep in mind that bootmii as ios will not protect you from a full brick. So don't go messing around with all kinds of dangerous homebrew, thinking that you're safe
     
  5. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Because if anything goes wrong (whyever) you have a big problem
     
  6. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, bootmii as IOS can't restore a full-brick, but since it is possible to flash the NAND with a programmer like the infectus and the PCWnP every backup could be helpful.

    Sure, the NAND programming is not possible for everyone, but since betwiin is out i know more and more user that could flash the NAND.

    Possible someone ask for some $ but it's always better than send the Wii to Nintendo.
     
  7. kizer8
    OP

    Newcomer kizer8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your replies, but I don't understand what installing as an IOS does. Also can I install bootmii as an IOS with preloader installed? Since I wasn't able to get bootmii as boot1 I ran RealWnD and backed up my nand, but I'm not sure what that gave me.

    Thanks,
    Kizer
     
  8. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any advantage using RealWND over BootMii?
     
  9. kizer8
    OP

    Newcomer kizer8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    That is exactly what I am wondering. I don't know what backing with RealWND gave me.
     
  10. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if you havent, go on and install bootmii as ios, back up your nand and install preloader 0.29 to be at least a little protected.
     
  11. Sacohen9665

    Member Sacohen9665 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    United States

    You say that you need a game Cube controller, but the connection looks the same as the mat I have for Dance Dance Revolution, could I control Boot Mii with the mat to backup my Nand?
     
  12. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL BootMiiRiiVerDance
     
  13. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    yes.

    dance mats are also a very easy way to get into the recovery menu the savemiifrii way, if you happen to have one.
     
  14. Sacohen9665

    Member Sacohen9665 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I have a dance mat, I tried it last night and it didn't work.

    What buttons would you use?

    I tried the arrows and A & B
     
  15. kizer8
    OP

    Newcomer kizer8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks I have done. I loaded preloader and backed up my nand as an IOS, but I have read on other posts that since I can't restore because I have bootmii installed as an IOS the backup is really worthless. Is that true, or can it be restored?
     
  16. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Not WORTHLESS per se, but you shouldn't try restoring it with only the IOS version. If you do happen to brick your Wii and can't restore it in any other way, you will have a last resort option of using an infectus to flash that backup directly back to your nand chip.
     
  17. kizer8
    OP

    Newcomer kizer8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the response, do you think at some point in the future they will make it where it can be restored without worries and not just as a last resort.
     
  18. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    up down left right all at the same time. needs to be plugged into port 4 also. worked for me, not that ive ever needed to use savemiifrii, was just curious if it worked or not.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AflbCD77na8 is a link to someone doing it. there is an english version somewhere too.
     
  19. Sacohen9665

    Member Sacohen9665 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    United States
    Wow all 4 at the same time on a dance mat may be tough, I may have to break out my twister board and loosen up a bit.

    Thanks;
     

Share This Page