Automatic system updates?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by JohanX, Jul 6, 2011.

Jul 6, 2011

Automatic system updates? by JohanX at 5:40 PM (954 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. JohanX
    OP

    Newcomer JohanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    If I enable Street Pass or some other feature on my 3DS, so I have to worry about new system updates being automatically applied?

    I have an Acekard and do not want updates applied until the Acekard firmware has been updated to support the new 3DS firmware
     
  2. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, at the most, the system will give you some random content like a video or two. Updates are not automatic and the system has to inform you about them first.
     
  3. JohanX
    OP

    Newcomer JohanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Cool - Thanks!
     
  4. nano351

    Member nano351 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United States
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_3DS_system_software

    why's automatic updates listed as a feature in the latest firmware then ?:|
     
  5. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Technically, there is "updates", but those are in the form of SpotPass information. You don't actually update your system.
     
  6. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    From what I read into it is it will send the update to your 3DS but you have to say YES to the update. If you don't say YES then it wont update, but it will be downloaded to it already.

    They cant automatically update it. Thats illegal. It's your device as you paid for it and they cant force you to do anything to it without your authorization first. They will have to inform you of the update and you will at least have to agree to the update before it will install.

    I"m guessing it'll tell you there is an update without you checking. It'll probably come in the form of a notification telling you to update like the Wii does.
     
  7. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    They will prompt you whether or not you accept to update.

    It's not exactly automatic.
     
  8. solofrags

    Banned solofrags Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    therefore, the update zelda oot example we will be make.what to play roms (if possible) with mandatory maj?
     
  9. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no where in that paragraph does it say that they give you a choice to download the firmware update it says it it will update automatically by itself.
     
  10. nano351

    Member nano351 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United States
    You leaving the wifi on/the system in sleepmode is you knowingly accepting that the system may be updated. Also, how is it illegal for them to do that? There is no detrimental effects to the system from being updated to a new firmware unless it's blocking your unlicensed third party devices. Although, it is unlikely they'd do an update automatically when the system is running on the battery due to the risk of bricking from unexpected power loss.
     
  11. dimmidice

    Member dimmidice GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    Belgium
    ^this he's right. it downloads it automaticly but it doesnt install it til you press "yes" (thats how it is for me anyways)
     

Share This Page