1. ground

    ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    907
    Country:
    Netherlands
    good job! i made one for myself last weekend, but only used it for my own because it was really buggy. this looks promising!
     
  2. mrtofu

    mrtofu GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    Taiwan
    deleted
     
    Last edited by mrtofu, Sep 21, 2020
  3. pezed

    pezed Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    Nice one gonna get it !!
     
  4. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, you're correct. It works using dd (which is why root is required).

    I've made it so that it only displays external media, so microSD cards and USB drives. Let me know if your internal storage is showing up. But it filters all that out on my S4.

    And yeah, those are all features I have in mind
     
    hashcheck1 likes this.
  5. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Your Nexus 4 does work with OTG, however it requires extra tinkering and parts. I know there's some information about this on xda-developers, you might want to give it a look.
     
  6. hashcheck1

    hashcheck1 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    465
    Country:

    Yeah cool! Yeah i mean't in my phones case a SAMSUNG Note 3 i have 32gb internal memory and a 64Gb MicroSD inside Phone aswell so the 64Gb card shows up. just make sure if you have a phone that accepts microsds you don't wipe that card instead of OTG card plugged in :)
     
  7. jnsp

    jnsp Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Great idea and app but i have a problem, i tried with a 4gb microsd and it says "There is not enough storage space for this image file on this device" I formated the microsd to fat32, it has 3,6gb left and im trying to flash a 1gb rom (Luigi mansion)
     
  8. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    What are the byte sizes that the app is reporting for the ROM and your microSD card? Also the device name for your card?
     
  9. jnsp

    jnsp Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Thanks for the quick reply
    1073741824 bytes, the app is not reporting any bytes from the microSD card, not even 0, it just say /dev/block/vold/179:33. Device name extSdCard, i guess
     
  10. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, that's a genuine bug. The app wasn't able to determine your card size through fdisk -l, so internally it assigned the card a size of -1 bytes.

    I'll fix it and release an update.
     
  11. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    GatewayFlash 1.0.1 released.
    Changelog:
    • Fixed bug preventing flash under certain conditions
     
  12. redkeyboard

    redkeyboard GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to do the same thing through terminal right?
     
  13. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States

    Yes. These are the commands you would need to type in:
    Code:
    su            # acquire root shell
    mount          # list the currently mounted filesystems
    dd if=/path/to/image/file.3ds of=/dev/path/to/media/device    # write file to device
    I do a bit more work to get any unmounted external media devices and to verify the sizes of the block device/image file, but this is how to do it in a nutshell.
     
  14. Tomorrow's Joe

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks so much, I was waiting for somebody to make this! :P
     
  15. redkeyboard

    redkeyboard GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I don't really think I'll be using this anytime soon but who knows.
     
  16. ground

    ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    907
    Country:
    Netherlands
    this isn't working on a galaxy tab 2 in combination with a sandisk class 10. it says 'flash results: 'and then nothing after a few seconds. i know the problem here is that the sdcard is mounted as a read only. so it refuses to write ( at least i got that error whit mine program)
     
  17. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    See what happens if you unmount the SD card in Settings.
     
  18. mercluke

    mercluke ‮҉
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,163
    Country:
    now to wait for gateway team to add similar functionality to allow flashing from 3ds sd to gateway sd through the 'L' gateway menu...
    :rolleyes:
     
  19. Pacote

    Pacote GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Brazil
    Not working for me

    Shows only my internal storage (my phone shows as SDCARD0) and another (MNT/SECURE/ASEC)

    both unknown size

    when i insert the microSD it shows as SDCARD1 IF its formatted and being recognized by the phone

    if i unmount is not shown anymore on the app

    If i try to flash, i get error that the application has stopped
     
  20. wchill

    OP wchill Resident chillxpert
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States

    What phone model do you have? and I assume the mount point is /sdcard1?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted