AMD HD 6870 driver problems

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Licardo7, Oct 1, 2011.

Oct 1, 2011

AMD HD 6870 driver problems by Licardo7 at 4:54 PM (622 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Licardo7
    OP

    Member Licardo7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    So im posting this thread for a friend. I got my 5850 working flawlessly with the newest drivers but he is having a tough time with installing his new HD 6870. He can download the drivers off the disk fine, but when he tried to update them, he gets an "install package failure."
    He can pres ok to continue but at the end of the installation it just gives him an error and his screen turns green (its not the cable, wee already tested it")

    his PSU can handle that card's load and we are using the drivers from the website so i don't know what is happening. He also gets these black boxes all over the screen so im at a complete lost.

    He owned Nvidia before but i uninstalled his drivers and then DriverSweeped his computer.

    Can you guys help us out?
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did he uninstall his previous drivers before trying to update?
     
  3. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    I'm guessing this is in Windows:

    Press Windows Sign key + R:
    Type in devmgmt.msc

    Look for any yellow triangles
    If you don't see any yellow triangle icons, look for the graphics card in the display adapters
     
  4. Licardo7
    OP

    Member Licardo7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    Naw he just updated after installing the ones on the disk.

    And i'll tell him as soon as he get on from Safe Mode
     
  5. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    He shouldn't need to be on safe mode. Safe mode will also disable windows installer preventing things from installing. (unless his screen is green all the time)
     

Share This Page