@All USB Loader developers

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiPower, Jun 2, 2009.

Jun 2, 2009

@All USB Loader developers by WiiPower at 6:06 PM (13,253 Views / 0 Likes) 39 replies

  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    *Update: Rev13(inofficial rev13a) requires loaders to fix 002, rev13b fixes that again. In return rev13b is slower.

    Add this line BEHIND the apploader, that's after getting the entrypoint. And before the DCFlushRange(...). This removes the 002 error then.

    *(u32 *)0x80003140 = *(u32 *)0x80003188;

    Here's how it looks like in Gamma's code:

    Code:
    ÂÂÂÂappentrypoint = (u32)app_final();
    
    ÂÂÂÂ// Remove 002
    ÂÂÂÂ*(u32 *)0x80003140 = *(u32 *)0x80003188;
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂDCFlushRange((void*)0x80000000, 0x3f00);

    Waninkoko changed the removement of the 002 that the cIOS does, the new method results in faster reading speed. For apps from system menu it should still be working, just game loaders need to do it from now on.

    If anybody gets 002 with a game from disc channel(but i think that's broken anyways) or with VC/WiiWare that is patched to IOS249, report to Waninkoko.
     


  2. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Does this work with older cios249 revisions (eg 9-12) too? Or is this for rev13 only?
    Btw, is there a easy way to tell the revision? (programmatically of course)
     
  3. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks for sharing that WiiPower - your always on top of these things in fairness , well done.
     
  4. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    NeoGamma and SoftChip always tell the revision of the used IOS/cIOS.

    And yes it will work on ALL IOS and cIOS, it's just THE patch to get rid of 002 when using a loader.
     
  5. scognito

    Member scognito GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    italy
    Country:
    Italy
    What is 002 error?
    I don't have many games, can you tell me which game should give this error?
    I'm only using coverflow usbloader.
     
  6. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    one that had it was need for speed undercover as far as i can remember and sonic and the black knight (someone correct me on these - my wii is chipped)
    Ohh and its a blue screen saying 002 Error when a game loads.
     
  7. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Mad World, Punch Out.
     
  8. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States

    seems like the cIOS38 rev13 that just came out are producing many 002 errors for the games from what I've read in the cIOS38 rev13 installer released thread,
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=158879
     
  9. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Could you please read the 1st post in this topic?
     
  10. scognito

    Member scognito GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Is it a problem that happens even on usb loaders?
    I have both and don't have that problem...(i use cios rev10).
     
  11. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Does really nobody read my topic? But posting is ok without???
     
  12. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
  13. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
    With rev10, these two games worked fine. However, with rev13, you would have 002 error if you haven't modified currently loader.
     
  14. scognito

    Member scognito GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah ok, if we will add support for rev13 I'll have a look at the wiipower advice, thanks both!
     
  15. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    nice little mod very useful, would like to see one with ios reload though.
     
  16. Meannekes

    Member Meannekes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Germany
    use rev13b and you dont need to change something in your code
     
  17. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    True, but if you knew what rev13b and rev8 till rev12 did, you would install rev13a immediatly and use a loader with that single line of code. Do a benchmark with both cIOS.
     
  18. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Those that know you will do what you tell them WiiPower,
    Those that dont will post a question and those that know you will answer so evetually everyone will do as your telling them , its just a matter of the info filtering down the line.

    Its all going to work out in the end.
     
  19. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Nah:
    1. Too many people are to ignorant to even consider reading something they would have to think about
    2. Eventually i get tired explaining the same all over again



    Best would be if developers see this thread and just integrate that fix as it would not harm and in case the 002 fix is changed/removed, the loader would be fine.
     
  20. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Mkay, I've done my homework: [​IMG]

     

Share This Page