Activity Log and 3DS Flashcard

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Dionysus, Oct 1, 2011.

Oct 1, 2011
  1. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the Activity Log able to track and record the DS roms played on a 3DS Flashcard (SCDS2) for example?

    I'm just curious, so if anyone can let me know that would be great! btw I'm planning to get a 3DS and SCDS2 later this year. Because right now I'm suffering with my M3 Real and a broken hinged Crimson Red DS lite -_-'
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The flashcard is detected as a specific game by the 3DS, and it's that game which is stored in the log and used to tell how much you are playing.
    The detected game can change when there's an update of the firmware/bootloader of the flashcard, usually after Nintendo finds a way to detect the card and block the used game.


    Though, as we can't analyze the internal function of the 3DS, we can't be sure it's "only" detecting the bootloader. Maybe they could create a way to detect the played game too, but personally I think it would be too much work to keep such a log for pirates only. Detecting the flashcard should already be enough to tell if the console has been pirated or not.


    The Supercard DS Two is currently detected as : Alex Rider Stormbreaker THQ.
     
  3. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank You [​IMG]

    What would have been nice though, is if Nintendo enabled the 'Application Switcher' via the Home button while playing a DS Game. That would be so much convenient, but I'm guessing that was not possible for them to implement at the time as 3DS software were their main focus for the 3DS, whereas the probably saw the DS backward compatibility for the 3DS as just an add-on. So they couldn't be bothered to add that feature while running a DS game..

    ..or maybe the 3DS emulates the DS and therefore can only run that DS application at that time, and as it requires quite a bit of RAM it cannot run another app simultaneously..but this is just a theory of mine :I
     
  4. Svorax

    Newcomer Svorax Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Katy, Tx
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's an emulator; I believe the 3DS works similar to the Wii's backwards compatibility. It detects the game and automatically shuts off portions of itself, i.e. RAM, CPU speed, etc. As for why they didn't include the ability to Home out of DS games, your guess is as good as mine. I'd assume something along the lines either the DS games couldn't easily be suspended by design, or possibly for security purposes. What you said could be the exact reason as well; they were on a schedule and had bigger things to worry about (*cough* launch titles *cough* web browser *cough*).
     

Share This Page