Acekard2i

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by DarkCrudus, Apr 19, 2009.

Apr 19, 2009

Acekard2i by DarkCrudus at 10:49 PM (1,442 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. DarkCrudus
    OP

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    so i have an acekard2i, with akaio 1.4.1 as well as an ezflash 3in1, i had been using GBAexploader to load my gba games, but then i noticed i could just select the gba games in the akaio menu and play them. i played a game for a bit, saved. loaded it later that day played a little more. n when i went to play again the next day, my save was gone.
    it would be helpful if anyone could explain to me whats wrong and how to fix it if its possible. i dont really want to use gbaexploader
     
  2. Blake1710

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    doesn't really belong in emulation

    were you playing the same game, then after playing another game, the save for the previous one was deleted?

    what you need to do is set backup of gba save in the 3in1 settings menu. it will backup the save of the game each time you play it.

    start menu>more>3in1/fas1>backup gba saves

    this should solve the problem.
     
  3. DarkCrudus
    OP

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    its already enabled. i never touched it before
     
  4. Blake1710

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    not really sure then

    i'm sure someone like another world will be able to answer you question...
     
  5. DarkCrudus
    OP

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    so i had enabled it to promt me to back up and load saves, but it seems that is ineffective as well. i wish there was a way to fix this problem
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    assuming the battery isn't dead, this is an 'order of operations' problem.

    the only way to be sure everything is working as it should is to enable the "pogo shell" like experience. set akaio to prompt before save/loading and have to save on start up. this way you will never lose a save or forget to load a save file.

    i've read (but not debugged this on my own) that there is a problem between saves made with gba exploader and the native 3in1 support of akaio. it might have something to do with the save extension. if i recall gba exploader makes a .sav? akaio makes a .gba.sav file. i also recall that smiths mentioned that there is a proprietary header involved somewhere, but it could be with the rom and not the save.

    try deleting 1 save and just using the akaio 3in1 support set-up the way i mentioned above.

    after the 3in1 support was upgraded, i've never gone back to gba exploader, and not had a single save problem.

    -another world
     
  7. DarkCrudus
    OP

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    i deleted all my saves when i found out i didnt need gba exploader also they save in the folder with the rom as gba exploader saved in a different folder, whats this header thing you speak of?

    slot 2 cartridge settings
    rumble off
    nor mode - auto
    back up gba save at start up - enabled
    prompt before save/load - enabled
    gba universal sleep - disabled

    root menu looks like
    gb-gbc games (folder)
    gba games (folder)
    gba_save (folder from gba exploader)
    gba_sign (folder from gba exploader)
    moonshl2 (folder)
    videos (folder)
    gba_exploader.nds
    lameboy.nds
    moonshl2.nds
     
  8. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    AKAIO sticks a 16-byte header on the front of GBA saves. You can simply remove the first 16 bytes to have the save be compatible with any other implementation (VisualBoyAdvance, GBAExpLoader, etc.). Working in reverse, you do not need to add the header to saves to make them compatible with AKAIO, it can handle raw saves just fine, although the next time it backs up your save, it will do so with the header on the front.
     
  9. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Moved to appropriate board..
     
  10. DarkCrudus
    OP

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    ^ hm even though it is acekard related it could be in emulation since it deals with it but anyway.

    i still dont have it working, i took off anything related to the gba exploader and redownloaded akaio and still the save files goes away v.v
     

Share This Page