AceKard2i DSi Problem

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Psychopathic, Mar 10, 2010.

Mar 10, 2010

AceKard2i DSi Problem by Psychopathic at 8:40 PM (2,537 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Psychopathic
    OP

    Newcomer Psychopathic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I have an Acekard2i that was updated for the DSi. It has the protruding actel chip. When I load up with AKAIO 1.6.1 It says Loading then goes to a black screen. When I load up with AKAIO 1.5.1, it loads up correctly and when I run (any) one of my backup roms, I get a white screen. Now this card works fine on a DSL, do I have defective hardware? Sorry if this problem is somewhere else on here, but I tried to search. Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Zolga.

    Newcomer Zolga. Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem, but upon restoring my firmware to 1.5.1(luckily I backed it up) I can run games just fine.
    Does the 1.6 firmware not work for the "Actel" chip cards?

    I also formatted my SD before putting the new firmware on.
     
  3. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I warned people there was a good chance AKAIO 1.6 wouldn't work with the new batch of HWID 8080 Actel clones which at the time RealHotStuff were knowingly selling and I got lynched for it.

    It states on the AceKard website both the official and AKAIO firmwares don't work on clones, so so you can't blame them if the've stopped AKAIO 1.6 from running on these clones especially after Rudolph hacked AKAIO 1.5. If these cards were purchased this year, send them back to your retailers.

    If they aren't working with the original HWID 4444 Actel cards then you should submit a bug report on the AKAIO forums and i'm sure the problem will be fixed. Remember it's only a release candidate and will have bugs in from moving to the updated devkit/ libraries.
     
  4. Psychopathic
    OP

    Newcomer Psychopathic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm. I did roll re-download AKAIO 1.5.1, and i did get it working somehow... How do I know the HWID of my card which I did purchase from RealHotStuff?
     
  5. Rising_Dragon

    Newcomer Rising_Dragon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you can find this out by loading the 1.4x DSi firmware fix and it will state the hardware ID along with the usual stuff about warning you of the update. Just turn it off when you find out.
     
  6. Psychopathic
    OP

    Newcomer Psychopathic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much, HWID: 8080. I think I am going to return it and try to get a real one. See, the Acekard site listed RealHotStuff as an official retailer and so I thought it was real this whole time.
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A lot of people on here rave about how great RealHotStuff are, but when you pay $24 for an AceKart you don't expect to get a clone. They knew they were clones and still continued to ship them and even tried to justify it.

    For the record SFG, my $12.97 card from DealExtreme which you claimed was fake because it required the updated firmware patch to go 1.4, works fine with AKAIO 1.6.
     
  8. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    can you load the acekard 2i fix on a ds phat, cause i want to know what HWID my acekard 2i is
     
  9. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sure you can run the FW update on a phat. You can also find the HWID by going to help in AKAIO's start menu. It's displayed as 2 digits, so just repeat them for the 4 digits that people get from teh firmware update. If AKAIO says it's 80 then the firmware update will say it's 8080.
     
  10. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    yeah i just realised i can find out he HWID from the help thing so i guess theres no need for the update... just wanted to know the HWID haha.

    so 8181 and 4444 are legit right?
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep, 8080 is only legit if it's an AK2.1
     
  12. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    thanks dude, you're awesome.
     
  13. Psychopathic
    OP

    Newcomer Psychopathic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    I got my replacement from RHS. This time I got Hardware ID 8181, and no protruding chip. AKAIO 1.6RC Works just fine on the DSi. Thank God.
     

Share This Page