Acekard not working?

Discussion in 'Online Stores and Purchases' started by ShadowSoldier, Apr 25, 2010.

Apr 25, 2010

Acekard not working? by ShadowSoldier at 5:30 PM (1,861 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    So, I received my Acekard 2i. It works flawlessly. And my friend ordered his from Shoptemp as well. I followed this guide:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=154624

    And it works perfectly for me. I set up his card for him, and it doesn't work. No games are working. He's getting the same roms as me from the same places. And they work fine on my card. Even ones with no anti-piracy.

    Followed that guide to the bone. No go. Reformatted his card, still a no go. We both updated using DSL.

    Is it possible he got a faulty card, or that "slim chance of it breaking during update" caused it to malfunction?

    What do we do?
     


  2. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried his cart on your DS?
     
  3. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    No. I didn't think that would make a difference seeing as me and him got a DSi XL at the same time. And mine works on my DS....

    I guess it's worth a shot.
     
  4. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, DSi XL is a factor.

    It seems that the Acekard 2i may have some contact issues when in a DSiXL.

    Slip a bit of card inbetween the AK2i and the Slot, and see if that helps.
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm going to try it tomorrow.

    I can't see the card not fitting being a factor, because his acekard loads up. Like he gets to the menu's and shit. But when a game is being loaded, it stops.
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah that sounds like what happens to my old AK2i in a DSi XL.
    After slipping a piece of card in, no problem.

    You can also slide the card underneath the actual contacts like so.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You like ripping people's images don't you? Just like you ripped my images from my icon thread on here for your Wiki page on vsrecommendedgames.

    You're a [removed, OTT]
     
  9. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol what.
     
  10. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude, DUDE.
    If you had a problem with that, you could've just contacted me.
    I thought you made those for sharing.

    I credited you in the discussion for that wiki article but must've forgotten to credit you in the article itself, I'm sorry.

    And fuck me for saving a helpful image to try and help someone else, geez.
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I simply don't see why someone would download an image from thread, upload them to another server then post a link to that in another thread.

    What's wrong with the original hosted image? or a link to thread itself? http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=218103#contacts

    As for the Icons, there's around 50 of them and together they took a fair bit of time to do. If you upload an image to wiki, you are meant to credit the author on the upload page.

    It's what I always do. http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Image:Piratshot.png.

    If you want to use the icons then use them, but you should give the credit to the author which is what it actually says on the wiki site you uploaded them.
     
  12. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My mistake, I'm not familiar with how Wiki's work.
    But you really flew off the handle there...

    Edit: To be honest I really don't want to use them now, because you just rub off as really ungrateful.
     
  13. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    This argument doesn't seem to be helping...
    And I'm pretty sure that RupeeClock posted a good solution.
     
  14. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it just me or is this thread not updating on the thread list? Nevermind.

    Yeah, no ill will intended at all, but tk_saturn has got me feeling really rotten now over a mistake...

    I didn't even realise that paper contact trick was in his guide, I saw it posted in another thread entirely, and decided to save it.
     
  15. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States

    I would agree, Ive seen you linking this helpful guide all over, and so many people need it.
     
  16. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ungrateful for what? lol.

    If I use someone else's images on here, I always say who's those images are. Most people do, it's forum etiquette.

    Are you seriously saying if you took some photos it wouldn't bother you if someone downloaded them and reuploaded to another server then started posting that image in threads? to most people it would appear that were the other persons photos.

    I've wasted a lot of time on that guide, and not for my benefit.
     
  17. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I usually credit people too, but I'm not familiar with using Wikis and the etiquette escaped me.
    I didn't even realise that image was in your guide (I've no reason to read it), I saw it posted elsewhere in the Acekard forum.
     
  18. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You never said you liked them, before this you've never posted any post towards me. If you had, then it wouldn't have bothered me. That thread will slip down the pages to obilivion soon enough.

    but this is off topic, so should end, and yes i'm an arse but that's who I am.
     
  19. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It must've outright slipped my mind to say thanks, I'm sorry.

    Seriously though, don't you think it's obvious that I must've liked them if I chose to use them? Come on...

    But yeah, this is really off topic, I'm done. I won't bother using your icons for that wiki article any more.
     
  20. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys? Stop being tools? Mmmkay pumpkins? Thanks.

    Now, back to the THREAD DISCUSSION.

    Just tried that card trick. It works better, but not the greatest yet. It still goofs up.

    He just told me, that under his sticker, there are bumps. And there noticeable by eye. And I look at mine, and you can't see anything. Could he have gotten a messed up card or something?

    EDIT: We think it's the card. Whenever he puts the card in his XL, it will last for like a minute, then stop working.
    I will edit again when he tries it in his lite.... it might very well be his XL...
     

Share This Page