Acekard 2.1 DEC 09 Official Fix

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Apr 26, 2010.

Apr 26, 2010
  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] Acekard 2.1 DEC 09 Official Fix
    Update
    [​IMG]

    Team Acekard has applied the AKAIO 1.6 RC3 fix to their official firmware. The official firmware can now be used on the Acekard 2.1 cards which shipped after December 2009. Users who have these cards may experience firmware instability and saving issues. If you do not have these problems then you have no reason to update your current official firmware.

    AKAIO 1.6 RC3 is in the final stages of BETA testing and should be released within the next few days. Stay tuned AKAIO users!



    Special thanks to Normmatt via IRC for the news!​

    [​IMG] Off-site Download
    [​IMG] Homepage
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Eff. Nevermind.
    Took some tries, but I got it.
     
  3. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Does this update fix new games or no?

    Acekard team spelled "Version" wrong.
     
  4. MarkDarkness

    Member MarkDarkness Deliverator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    Poland
    This is unlikely. Over at the official forum normmatt mentioned having only sent them the solution to the card issue, since he ended up figuring the fix out before they did.
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Presumably this work with AKAIO by placing it's [​IMG]ak4menu in [​IMG]__AIO\AK2LOADER so people can use AKAIO instead?

    Will this not work on the carts not effected? is there no way for it to detect if the Spansion chip is present and use Normmatt's alternative method?
     
  6. MarkDarkness

    Member MarkDarkness Deliverator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    Poland
    You got it wrong. The next version of AKAIO WILL support these cards. You just have to wait a couple of days for beta testing to finish. Then it will be on GBAtemp's front page and you will be able to download and use a working AKAIO.
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got what wrong? This is about the new Acekard Official, not AKAIO 1.6RC3. Everyone already knows AKAIO 1.6RC3 will support them.

    In case you aren't aware, you should be able to get AKAIO 1.6RC2 working by using the loaders from the new official.
     
  8. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    then why the fuck use akaio?
    the whole awesomeness of akaio is it's loaders...
    why use akaio if you are using akmenu to load roms?
     
  9. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's your opinion.

    So you think the only difference between AKAIO and official is that AKAIO has updated loaders?
     
  10. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I can say is:-

    Normmatt (& the AKAIO team - mustn't forget them) a Genius !!!!

    The people who MAKE the cards couldn't fix the problem - But a 'Backroom programmer' has !!!!!
    (& it's nice to hear RC3 coming soon as well)
     
  11. MarkDarkness

    Member MarkDarkness Deliverator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    Poland
    You... want the official loader on AKAIO? OK. That's weird. Why in the nine hells would anybody want that? To get less compatibility?
     
  12. PanzerWF

    Member PanzerWF GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Canada
    Surprised the Acekard team has not hired him haha.

    Thanks for the brilliant work once again.
     
  13. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Normmatt is Awesome, glad to hear the RC3 coming soon [​IMG]
     
  14. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    if normmatt is doing this for free then...
    why hire when you have the best programmer for free [​IMG]
     
  15. dragon574444

    Member dragon574444 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    Nice. I'm glad they finally fixed it. Looking forward to Akaio 1.6 RC3!
     
  16. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    awesome 1.6 rc3 ftw, also why doesnt acekard hire him for making official firmware, so that they can work on a new cart that can go up against supercard ds2?
     
  17. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeahh Way to go AKAIO Team. That fix was well needed and I too am looking forward to AKAIO 1.6RC3. Keep up the good work guys. [​IMG]
     
  18. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    this firmware can be used on the Acekard 2i
    have read that somewhere
     
  19. heffalump

    Newcomer heffalump Newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi which file(s) do I need to copy from the official zip file and where do I put them in the AKAIO folders?
     
  20. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     

Share This Page