Hacking About Acekard

EyeZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
2,652
Trophies
0
XP
1,106
You will probably have to update it using a DSlite or DSi on a low enough firmware, if you can't purchase 1 pre-updated
 

BasedKiliK

*INSERTGENERICTITLE*
Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
774
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Somewhere in the middle
XP
392
Country
United States
So basically it has a wifi function that will search and download necessary updates?
No. The updates to get it working on newer DSi/3DS firmware are on the official Acekard site. The update function on the Acekard, when using the All-in-One custom firmware (AKAIO), only updates the loaders, which fix AP and compatibility with the latest games.
 

BasedKiliK

*INSERTGENERICTITLE*
Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
774
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Somewhere in the middle
XP
392
Country
United States
Well my good sir, as with nearly every existing flashcart, there are fakes that attempt to replicate the original build of the real products. While they may succeed in mimicking the real deal at times, they often have more compatibility issues, inabilities to update, and are more prone to stop functioning altogether. So as you can suspect, there are fake Acekards floating around on certain online retailers.
 

Keynomaru

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
Canada
Well my good sir, as with nearly every existing flashcart, there are fakes that attempt to replicate the original build of the real products. While they may succeed in mimicking the real deal at times, they often have more compatibility issues, inabilities to update, and are more prone to stop functioning altogether. So as you can suspect, there are fake Acekards floating around on certain online retailers.


From your sig I assume you have a legitimate one. Know a good site to buy from?
 

camurso_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
542
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
450
Country
Portugal
What´s the benefict in updating the firmware?
More games playable?
Isn´t that what Akaio is for? :unsure:
 

BasedKiliK

*INSERTGENERICTITLE*
Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
774
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Somewhere in the middle
XP
392
Country
United States
Well my good sir, as with nearly every existing flashcart, there are fakes that attempt to replicate the original build of the real products. While they may succeed in mimicking the real deal at times, they often have more compatibility issues, inabilities to update, and are more prone to stop functioning altogether. So as you can suspect, there are fake Acekards floating around on certain online retailers.


From your sig I assume you have a legitimate one. Know a good site to buy from?

Depends on your location. http://shoptemp.net/...Acekard-2i.html


What´s the benefict in updating the firmware?
More games playable?
Isn´t that what Akaio is for? :unsure:
The updates issued by the official site update the bootstrap on the AK2i, allowing it to bypass the security updates put in place by the official Nintendo updates. AKAIO is the well-designed OSMenu used to do pretty much everything else with the Acekard. Only updating AKAIO, however, won't get it working on newer DSi/3DS firmwares (most of the time).
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Boys boys boys boys
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
26,000
Trophies
3
Age
31
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
29,655
Country
Antarctica
As always i suggest the same two sites
http://www.zhuzhuchina.com/store/acekard_2i_dsi_1_4_4_flashcard_with_anti-fake_code_original_compatible_3ds_last_firmware_with_usb_card_reader.html?search_string=acekard+2i&search_category_id=0
http://www.etcome.com/product/ak2i-card-for-3ds-dsi-ll-dsi-ds-lite-ds.html
buying from etcome does support gbatemp, btw.


also the acekard 2i will work perfectly on any ds, including ds lite, phat, dsi, dsi xl, and 3ds. no it does not play 3ds roms though.
you can leave your ds firmware as is, it doesn't matter anymore and it won't effect how the card works. although personally i prefer to flash my ds with flashme, but you don't have to do that anymore.
 

Keynomaru

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
Canada
Thanks everyone, the intend was just to play DS games. Both etcome and zhuzhchi seem to have the lowest prices but one doesn't take paypal and the other is having issues with it. I feel like I am late or something lol.
 

Keynomaru

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
Canada
Should I just wait awhile for etcome to reslove its pay pal issue? I have no idea how to do this "Telegraphic Transfer" thing.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol