A stable softmod for wii 4.3

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nintendoom, Jul 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jul 18, 2010
  1. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Im gonna update me wii from 4.2 to 4.3 because i cant get to my wii settings. all i see is black screen no
    sound and if you hold the wii remotes power button the wii remote will die and you need to re-plug the wii
    again.So... im attempting for an update but me problem is i cant find a step by step tutorial on how to softmod it.
    I tried youtube videos, but all i see is ssbb hack which needs to be controlled using the gc controller. And i saw another one
    but it uses the indiana something.. which i dont have. so yeah.. I need somekind of Bannerbomb like hack where you
    just put your sd and poof, here comes the instructions and install babla yada..
    some thing like that
     
  2. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Just reinstall 4.2 using DOP-Mii or a wad using WAD Manager. Updating isn't needed at all.
     
  3. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Yeah but remember exploits like bannerbomb just don't grow on trees...
     
  4. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    can that DOP-Mii brick my wii?, or can i just use the wad manager instead.
    whats more brickless?
    If the wad is more less
    can i have the name of the wad
    and uhmm.. will i lose my downloaded channels, homebrew channel, my black wii theme, saves and other materials like save files blabla
     
  5. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    anyone.im so excited sorry
     
  6. sonknuck23

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it really that easy? I'm about to softmod a wii for a buddy of mine, he has 4.3. SO, I'm just looking for someone who's SURE, because I don't want to fuck up my friends shit, haha. [​IMG]

    If I do the following:

    1 - Use SmashStack to run Dop-Mii
    2 - Use Dop-Mii to downgrade to Sys. Menu 4.2

    Will it actually work? Or is it really not that simple. I recall seeing a thread where it's much more complicated to downgrade the system menu or to patch 4.3 or whatever, and I'm just posting this 'cause I'm wondering if someone here is absolutely sure if it's really that easy or not.
     
  7. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I dont know, thats why im asking...
    ------------------------------------------
    Whats he wad name for wii system 4.2, if i install that will i start at the beginning meaning, i lose my bootmii priiloader dvdx homebrw channel and install it again
    ????
     
  8. mvgc3

    Member mvgc3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Get NUS Downloader to get the System menu wad. Remember to check "Pack as .wad" (I'm paraphrasing, it might different, but will be similar to that)

    You shouldn't have to reinstall anything. But don't quote me on that.
     
  9. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States

    well you sure didnt look very hard since its on the main page, bannerbomb doenst work on 4.3 so babla yada to you. Read before posting.
     
  10. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    once i Reinstall 4.2 again, If im bricked, can i load priiloader and just reload my nand.
    And what will happen if i reload my nand, will my wii saves loss or will my channels get loss
     
  11. icecold

    Newcomer icecold Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Sweden
    NO!

    Follow the guides or you will have a brick.
     
  12. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    oh yeah, i've got my wii ready and im ready for installation but...
    i see this at the nusd
    --- System Menu ---

    The System Menu is a critical part of the Wii boot sequence, and failure to install a proper WAD, failure to install its corresponding IOS module, and many other factors can cause a brick. The only safe way to mess with the System Menu is with BootMii boot2 installed.
    Starting NUS Download. Please be patient!
    Grabbing tmd.481...
    Grabbing cetk...
    Searching for certs...
    - Cert CA-CP Located!
    - Cert CA Located!
    - Cert CA-XS Located!
    Requires: IOS70
    Content #: 9
    -------------------------------
    It requires IOS70?, well the ios 70 i got was the one when i softmod my wii, by using this instructions and it says that
    "c) Do the same for IOS70patched.wad. Make Sure the action is Set to INSTALL!"
    which means im in patched70 right?
    is my patched diffrent from the ios 70 required?
    so i was kinda nervous... reinstalling 4.2
     
  13. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Waiting...
     
  14. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Installing the 4.2 WAD will work fine seeing as you clearly already have IOS70 or else your current 4.2 wouldn't work at all. Considering you couldn't work that out, I pity your Wii.

    Anyway, reinstalling 4.2 will clear your theme, but you will not lose channels, HBC or saves. You will load priiloader, and if it fails, wont be able to recover with priiloader. Unless you have bootmii/boot2, you wont be able to recover.

    But it is very unlikely to fail, as it only takes a few seconds AFAIK to install the System Menu, and you'd have to lose power during that for a brick to occur.

    But before you rush off to reinstall the SM, I just want to check: Have you changed the System Menu IOS in Priiloader? Because if so, that may well be the problem. (If you don't understand the question, you didn't change it, and you need to reinstall SM).
     
  15. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah, thanks...........
    It works but one thing i loose...
    Its priloader..........
    Gonna reinstallit again
    THANKS ANYWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  16. Eric345

    Member Eric345 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    wait u can't install CIOS on the black wii and get the brick protection (indina jones)
     
  17. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan

    huh? what's the difference between the white and the black one?
     
  18. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Of course you can install Custom IOS on a Black Wii.

    What you cannot do, is install bootmii as boot2. Same as any White Wii made in the last 18 months.

    So you MUST install Priiloader to at least give you some protection, and bootmii as IOS and make a NAND Dump, for what its worth.....
     
  19. elmariachi

    Member elmariachi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    sure you can, just no dvd backups working on it ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page