5.50 Gen-B - where to now?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by belgatom, Feb 25, 2011.

Feb 25, 2011

5.50 Gen-B - where to now? by belgatom at 7:42 AM (1,215 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. belgatom
    OP

    Newcomer belgatom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Belgium
    I bought a psp from a friend a while ago. This was softmodded and if I go to system settings, it says the following:

    System Settings: 5.50 Gen-B (Full)
    Alias: Pyr0

    I have been using it for a while and most games work. Two games that I really wanted to play, didn’t: Mod Nation Racers and Monster Hunter 3Rd Portable.
    Now I’ve been looking around on the internet and have found it’s possible to get at least the Monster Hunter game to work. But, this all seems slightly more complicated than both the Wii and DS. And as I didn’t hack the psp myself, I feel a little lost.
    On the net I found the following link: http://www.pspgweber.com/forums/viewtopic....e7b70edfec2876f. But everyone speaks of GEN D3. Which is not what I have.

    Can anyone point me into the right direction.
     
  2. belgatom
    OP

    Newcomer belgatom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Belgium
    this is the information that pspident gave me:

    Kernel Version: 5.50
    Tachyon: 0x00300000
    Baryon: 0x00040600
    Pommel: 0x00000104
    FuseID: 0x25A00F7D111A0
    FuseCFG: 0x2400

    Kirk: 0010
    Spock: 0050

    Motherboard type: Fat (01g)
    Motherboard Model: TA-081
    UMD firmware vers. : 1.090 Oct18, 2004

    PSP version: Fat v2.0
    Bat.EEProm access: Yes
    Possible CFW: Yes

    (sorry, no acces to ftp account here so just had to type it over)
     
  3. onewinged_angel

    Newcomer onewinged_angel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Belgium
    Best thing 4 u is to google your search for the 5.50 gen d-3.
    When you find it, it is fairly easy to install it yourself. Just make sure your battery is at 100%
     
  4. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
  5. belgatom
    OP

    Newcomer belgatom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanx, I have already been searching further and currently upgraded to B2 (although the firmware keeps saying its B (Full). )
    Now looking for some installers.

    Why does the battery have to be at 100%? Can't I just plug it into the mains (adapter)?
     
  6. belgatom
    OP

    Newcomer belgatom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Belgium

    Nice. A little extra question. For the D3 update, I need to put 550PBP file in the root of my card.

    Question 1 : does it need to stay there after the update or do I need to remove it?
    Question 2 : does the 550PBP need to be there when I run the Prometheus-4 update?
     
  7. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    Plug it in and remove the battery, it works. >.>
     
  8. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Btw I advice you never to update without the battery inserted because if something happened to the electricity during those seconds your psp will get bricked . Try with the plug and the battery inserted if it dont work wait for the battery to get fully charged. Waiting a few hours is better than going through the trouble of fixing your bricked psp.
     

Share This Page