3DS eShop

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by mbcrazed, Apr 7, 2013.

Apr 7, 2013

3DS eShop by mbcrazed at 4:14 PM (947 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    You know how 3DS eShop has GB, GBC, NES, and some other titles? You know how they have save states? Does that mean it's sort of like an emulator that's built in to the system? Do the games have the same code as they would on the ROM like on the 3DS? I know it's a lot of questions, but Thanks Tempers!~
     
  2. Eerpow

    Member Eerpow *swoosh*

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    Of course they're emulated, you can't fit the original hardware inside the 3DS. The emulators come with each title you purchase instead of having a single emulator for let's say all GB games, partially because they feature custom settings and optimizations for each title.

    The emulators they use are their own custom coded property, as well as the ROMs they've dumped.

    Do the games have the same code as they would on the ROM like on the 3DS?
    The question is hard to understand, sorry, but I'll try to answer it anyway. Everything uses ROMs, cartridges whether it's DS, 3DS or NES ones have a ROM stored inside. The only difference here is that they made official backups of those files so that they can digitally sell them on the eShop.
     
  3. Rizsparky

    Member Rizsparky Saiyan Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Location:
    The Future
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup, it does support save states which means they are emulated, a godsend for harder games... (Ninja Gaiden :cry: ....)
     
    mbcrazed likes this.
  4. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    Makes sense! Is that why is you were per say to hack it and put an NES game that's NOT on the eShop on the system it won't run? If there was a game that WAS on the eShop would it run?
     
  5. Eerpow

    Member Eerpow *swoosh*

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    Unofficial ways to run software via a hack would be the same as with any other system. Having access to the 3DS hardware it's simply a matter of porting an existing emulator and have every ROM played from the same emulator. eShop offerings has nothing to do with it as they use separate emulators tied with each purchase.
     
    mbcrazed likes this.
  6. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    Oh.... Cool! Thanks for this information, I learn something new everyday! :D
     

Share This Page