24 hours instruction on smash stack?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by Mercenaryx, Apr 27, 2013.

Apr 27, 2013
  1. Mercenaryx
    OP

    Newcomer Mercenaryx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the smash stack method to install the homebrew channel on my WiiU. I've installed the homebrew channel with a few different methods before on a handfull of different wiis in the past but this is my first time using smash stack, and I'm afraid this part doesn't make much sense to me (i think its the way its worded)

    Go to the Stage Builder, move any existing custom stages on Brawl to your SD card, and exit the stage builder. Smash Stack will not work if your Wii has any custom stages on it, even the three samples that come with a new file or the stages from the Smash Service.

    I get this part. Thats fine... I guess the smash service is the one that sends you custom stages from people across the internet?

    (You will need to wait at least 24 hours for the stage from the Smash Service to be automatically deleted before trying to run this exploit. DO NOT go on Wi-Fi once the Smash Service stage is deleted.)

    #1) I'm not sure what this means but I'll take a whack at it... Can't you just delete the "smash service stage" yourself? Whats with the waiting 24 hours? Oo I'm a little confused. And whats this about dont go on Wi-Fi? Does that mean I can no longer go online with my vWii anymore after this at all from here on out?
     
  2. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    if there is ANY stage, you have to delete it one way or another

    so if you have been connected to the internet, wait one day
     
  3. metroid maniac

    Member metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You shouldn't use Wi-Fi until you have used the Smash Stack exploit.
    Once it has been used and the Homebrew Channel is installed, you can delete the exploit and use Wi-Fi as usual.
     
  4. Mercenaryx
    OP

    Newcomer Mercenaryx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    so after i delete the stages, wait 24 hours before i use the exploit?

    edit: when do i wait the 24 hours? after i copy the infected trigger stage onto my console from the sd card or w/e? Or after i delete the sample stages? When exactly.
     
  5. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    no, if there are NO stages, it should workif you have the smash service stage, wait until it dissipears
    once you are done, just launch the game, put the sd card in, and then go to custom stages, the exploit should load, if your wii u hangs or freezes, or you have an loading screen that takes really long, just pull the plug, REMOVE THE SD CARD, plug it back in and try again.
     
  6. Mercenaryx
    OP

    Newcomer Mercenaryx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    i followed this video demo just now and the trigger didnt go off:

    what did i do wrong?

    ps. the sd card is 2Gb, and i BELIEVE its FAT16. I've placed the folder "private" from the download and the boot.elf file at the root of the sd card and didnt insert it until i deleted the sample stages, then exited out.
     
  7. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    did it hang or freeze? if it didn't, you did something wrong, check that smash stack is on your sd card, if not, you might have inserted it before the game started

    if it did freeze, try again, it takes a few tries
     
  8. Mercenaryx
    OP

    Newcomer Mercenaryx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    it really didnt do either, if anything it may have taken slightly longer to load but otherwise nothing.
     
  9. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    check for smash stack
     
  10. Mercenaryx
    OP

    Newcomer Mercenaryx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    i sincerely think theres something wrong with my sd card... sorry i think its defective... i just tried indianna pwns and upon inserting it into the wiiu it wouldnt read... i think i need a new sd card.

    edit: i've used indianapwns many times before so i know what im doing here.
     
  11. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    sd, sdhc, or sdxc?
     
  12. metroid maniac

    Member metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you going to the vWii and then inserting the SD card?
    I believe it may try to delete the save if you are still on the Wii U menu.
     
    n1ckn4m3 likes this.
  13. bostonBC

    Member bostonBC GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you need to leave the SD card out until you are in SSBB and ready to launch the hack (after deleting any stages).

    At least that is what I've done for modding my Wii U's.

    I read that the system tries to erase any SSBB files it finds on an inserted SD card. Not sure exactly when that happens (Wii U or vWii mode) but if you leave the SD card out until after deleting the stages it works.
     
  14. Mercenaryx
    OP

    Newcomer Mercenaryx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    No no, im doing everything according to instruction and yes its a normal SD... its having problems in other computers so i think theres something wrong with it.
     

Share This Page