Homebrew 10.4 O3DS Browserhax doesn't work

MegaIDK

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Location
XP
139
Country
Brazil
Hello people from gbatemp.net! I'm new here in the forum and this is my first thread. I hope you guys can help me with this problem I have.
So, I've tried several times to install homebrew through browserhax, but it doesn't seem to work. I have the latest update, that was supposed to work with spider28hax (10.4.0-29, right?) and an old 3DS.
The first time I tried I really didn't know how the 3DS homebrew worked, specially this incredibly easy way to install it. So I tried it without downloading the starter kit. Of course, it didn't work. So then after some research I discovered that the starter kit is needed so the homebrew launcher works. I dowloaded it, put the files in the SD root, done as the browserhax site said but it still didn't work.
Here I'll put what I understood from the process so if there is something wrong you can correct me:
1. Download starter kit and put it in SD card
2. Insert SD in 3DS
3. Open browser in 3dsbrowserhax_auto.php
Then it's supposed to return one of the exploit methods, right? Instead the lower screen gone yellow and gray (I guess this was supposed to happen) and then the browser crashed.
So, what should I do? Should I keep trying or there really is a problem?
 

Poketard

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
1,266
Country
United States
Pretty sure it only worked up until 10.3. If you're on 10.4 your only options are Cubic Ninja, or OOT+powersaves.
 

scorpiotaisho

Harmoknight
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
57
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
Chile
You can format your SD and then copy a 'fresh' starter kit. That should work, so, if it doesn't, you have to keep trying!

Pretty sure it only worked up until 10.3. If you're on 10.4 your only options are Cubic Ninja, or OOT+powersaves.

It does work in 10.4, but only in O3DS.
 

scorpiotaisho

Harmoknight
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
57
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
Chile
Formatting the SD will only uninstall the games and remove the badges, right?

Uhm...well, if you don't want to lose those things, you can always try to put the starter kit again, but without formatting. Just replace files. It should work, anyways.
You should also delete history and cookies from the web browser, first.
 

MegaIDK

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Location
XP
139
Country
Brazil
Uhm...well, if you don't want to lose those things, you can always try to put the starter kit again, but without formatting. Just replace files. It should work, anyways.
You should also delete history and cookies from the web browser, first.
Nah, I'll take the risk.
And I did try deleting the history and cookies already.
delete the "webkit" file in sd card
bookmark: http://yls8.mtheall.com/sliderhax.php and use this to boot hbl
keep trying
Well... Sliderhax wasn't supposed to work with 10.2 and beyond, but I guess it wouldn't hurt to try...
Oh, and do I need to delete the webkit file every time it fails?
 
Last edited by MegaIDK,

MegaIDK

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Location
XP
139
Country
Brazil
Ok, so the SD is to be set up like this?
And can the problem be the internet speed?

Every OOT Cartridge can work with OOTHax ?
I guess so, as there is only one type of OOT3D.
 

Attachments

  • 3ds.png
    3ds.png
    947 bytes · Views: 321
Last edited by MegaIDK,

Hourak

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
22
Country
Brazil
Hi, I'm with the same problem. An O3DS with FW 10.4.0-29. I'll try this ways to install homebrews.
MegaIDK if you do. Share your method, thank you!
 

GalladeGuy

Cool and Epic
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
2,687
Trophies
0
XP
2,908
Country
United States
@MegaIDK @Hourak
I have a 10.4.0-29 Old3DS.
Here's what I did:
  1. Extract https://smealum.github.io/ninjhax2/starter.zip onto your SD Card
  2. Delete "webkithax.bin" or whatever its called from my SD Card (If you don't have it on the root of your SD Card, it just means its your first time trying Browserhax)
  3. Go into web browser, clear cookies & history (In the internet browser settings)
  4. Now initialize save data (Also in settings)
  5. Enter the internet browser with internet off (just to be safe)
  6. Bookmark "http://yls8.mtheall.com/3dsbrowserhax_auto.php"
  7. Exit the internet browser, turn wifi back on, and go back in
  8. Click on the bookmark, and wait for the page to load
  9. If all goes well, it should load into the homebrew launcher after a couple of seconds of colored bottom screens
If it doesn't work the first time, repeat ALL steps (except step 1, but it couldn't hurt). It took me about 4 tries to get it right so keep at it!
 
Last edited by GalladeGuy,
  • Like
Reactions: hobbledehoy899

Sora Takihawa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
3,617
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Hamburg
XP
2,367
Country
Germany
i have a 4.5 sysnand o3ds and iwant to update to 9.2 via sysupdater
i need hbl to acces it via sysnand but i dont have cn retail
and sliderhax dont work for me.
i need help please

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i installed fbi via rxtools but my health and safety app doesnt change to fbi
 

hobbledehoy899

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
2,838
Trophies
1
XP
1,963
Country
Antarctica
@MegaIDK @Hourak
Here's what I did:
  1. Extract https://smealum.github.io/ninjhax2/starter.zip onto your SD Card
  2. Delete "webkithax.bin" or whatever its called from my SD Card (If you don't have it on the root of your SD Card, it just means its your first time trying Browserhax)
  3. Go into web browser, clear cookies & history
  4. Now initialize save data
  5. Enter the internet browser with internet off (just to be safe)
  6. Bookmark "http://yls8.mtheall.com/3dsbrowserhax_auto.php"
  7. Exit the internet browser, turn wifi back on, and go back in
  8. Click on the bookmark, and wait for the page to load
  9. If all goes well, it should load into the homebrew launcher after a couple of seconds of colored bottom screens
You did this on 10.4.0-29?
 
  • Like
Reactions: V0ltr0n

Hourak

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
22
Country
Brazil
@MegaIDK @Hourak
Here's what I did:
  1. Extract https://smealum.github.io/ninjhax2/starter.zip onto your SD Card
  2. Delete "webkithax.bin" or whatever its called from my SD Card (If you don't have it on the root of your SD Card, it just means its your first time trying Browserhax)
  3. Go into web browser, clear cookies & history
  4. Now initialize save data
  5. Enter the internet browser with internet off (just to be safe)
  6. Bookmark "http://yls8.mtheall.com/3dsbrowserhax_auto.php"
  7. Exit the internet browser, turn wifi back on, and go back in
  8. Click on the bookmark, and wait for the page to load
  9. If all goes well, it should load into the homebrew launcher after a couple of seconds of colored bottom screens
I'll try it now. One question, how I initialize savedata?
 

razrx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
25
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
@MegaIDK @Hourak
I have a 10.4.0-29 Old3DS.
Here's what I did:
  1. Extract https://smealum.github.io/ninjhax2/starter.zip onto your SD Card
  2. Delete "webkithax.bin" or whatever its called from my SD Card (If you don't have it on the root of your SD Card, it just means its your first time trying Browserhax)
  3. Go into web browser, clear cookies & history (In the internet browser settings)
  4. Now initialize save data (Also in settings)
  5. Enter the internet browser with internet off (just to be safe)
  6. Bookmark "http://yls8.mtheall.com/3dsbrowserhax_auto.php"
  7. Exit the internet browser, turn wifi back on, and go back in
  8. Click on the bookmark, and wait for the page to load
  9. If all goes well, it should load into the homebrew launcher after a couple of seconds of colored bottom screens
I tried this, and still got the error D:
 
Last edited by razrx,

GalladeGuy

Cool and Epic
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
2,687
Trophies
0
XP
2,908
Country
United States
I presume you ether do not care for CFWs or did it on another 3DS..?
I already have a 2DS with emuNAND. My Old3DS is my main console, and I don't want to risk losing the $200 worth of games and 1000+ hours I spent playing them, just so I can have something pretty useless to me in the first place.
I tried this, and still got the error D:
Keep trying. It took me about 4 tries before it worked.
 

razrx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
25
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
I already have a 2DS with emuNAND. My Old3DS is my main console, and I don't want to risk losing the $200 worth of games and 1000+ hours I spent playing them, just so I can have something pretty useless to me in the first place.

Keep trying. It took me about 4 tries before it worked.
Repeating all the steps? (Delete webkit, initialize data, etc)?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/KYyRMdx.mp4