Homebrew Two Stupid Questions?

Centrix

Stop Poking the Moogle!
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I really really love BSNES by Byuu, It so accurate and smooth with timing its like having the SNES built into my PC...So I was wondering what it would take to port such and awesome emulator to wii or even the DS for that matter? (Note: I have no know knowledge of C or C++ programming I am but a humble Website and Graphic designer. ) I just figured I'd ask, I'm sure its probably uber hard and allot of work, also my last stupid question is any one know when theres going to be another round of updates for the NES, GBA and SNES emulators for Wii? just curious...lol

Jacobeian

Trophies
XP
Country
Cuba
QUOTE said:
So I was wondering what it would take to port such and awesome emulator to wii or even the DS for that matter?

time and someone motivated enough to do it, as always

keep in mind that the accuracy of bsnes has a price: it means it also has higher CPU requirement compared to other emulators like snes9x
there is a reason why it's always snes9x that is chosen for ports on consoles, it's because it's portable (it's open-source and without any PC specific code requirement) , easy to port (you only have a few set of functions to rewrite) and relatively fast so it can run on limited hardware like the Wii or PSP.

I doubt the NDS could be running anything else that those highly ARM-optimized ports of snes9x and a port of bsnes on the Wii would also probably run much slower than snes9x but who knows, I heard the author has developped "less insane-accurate" versions that could eventually be fine.

The question is : will a developper find any interest in giving such port a try ? I doubt it because what most people want is play SNES games, they simply don't care about which emulator is ported as long as their favorite games (which are quite always the same) run.