QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by OSW, May 17, 2009.

May 17, 2009

QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here! by OSW at 3:39 PM (227,842 Views / 1 Likes) 2,605 Comments

    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,173
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    On download page 4, what you download is where it says (cM)IOSs, the fourth section on the right column, the three that are marked 10, 0.2, and 5
    When you download them and CHOOSE ONE at a time to install with a WAD manager and test out with the disk channel until you find one that works. (They all install in the same place so installing one will replace any others you may have had installed.).


    • Newcomer

    Nintendojo97 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    12
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Country:
    United States
    I've noticed something when trying to patch mIOS's where it says something about IOS 257. Does tis require IOS 257? Because I don't have it. Like do I install IOS 257 then install these WADs with it?
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,173
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    First off, IOS257 doesn't actually exist. The numbers don't go up that high.

    Anyway,

    There are a number of different IOS that have permissions to be able to install stuff. 249 and 236 are the most commonly used. There are also WAD managers like MMM or WAD GUI that don't even ask you which IOS to load to use for the installation so take your pick.
    • Newcomer

    Nintendojo97 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    12
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. I'll have to try those, I do have 236 installed onto the Wii, of course I have 249, but I use WAD Manager to install WADs but I guess I can try those. I'm just really not good at this stuff but thanks for helping me out and answering all these questions, I'd never be able to do this stuff solo.
    • Newcomer

    gooddegenerate New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    In USB Loader GX 3.0 (I have r1203), I've always wondered if there was a way to set the modifier for certain cheat codes. I know how to use the ocarina, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to use the modifier codes.
    • Newcomer

    Pyron New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyway to extract Wiiware and Virtual Console games from the wii, And run them off of a hard drive?
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,223
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You mean the codes with "xx" where you need to edit them manually before launching the game?
    These are not supported (yet?) in the loader. The Ocarina menu need a complete rebuilt. but I don't know if I'll do it.

    Yes you can extract your own channels to play them from HDD or SD.
    There are different ways to extract games.
    The easiest is "Dump NAND" feature. It extract all your Wii's NAND to SD. the USBLoaders can then load that copy of the NAND as if it was the real Wii. (this is what is called Emulated NAND)
    Dumping the NAND is done by different homebrew (either specific to this function, or included in USBLoaders).

    The other way is to dump the channel one by one by using a homebrew, such as BlueDump. it creates a WAD file which you can then install on an already existing Emulated NAND copy.
    • Newcomer

    gooddegenerate New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    It'd be a great feature to have.
    • Newcomer

    gooddegenerate New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    I have a question.. I know gamecube iso's work, but do .gcm files work on the wii using dios mios? I used DiscEx for my iso's will that work with gcm files?
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,173
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    They're actually the exact same file format with a different name. DiscEx will work with either one. You can actually name either of them "game.iso" and just put it in a folder inside the "games" folder and it will work, too. That's basically all DiscEx does when you tell it not to compress it ... plus extract some files for xNEEK but they're not needed.
    • Newcomer

    gooddegenerate New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    With dios mios lite, if I put my gc games on my usb drive, when it asks to copy them over to the SD card, is that only temporary?
    Like when I get done playing, it deletes it off my SD card?

    Or does it copy it to the SD card and it stays on there.

    I would kinda like a system where it had to copy it temporarily to my SD card, that way I can keep my GC games on my usb drive, but play them from my SD card. (I seem to have time out issues on all versions of dios mios with my harddrive so this seems like a half decent solution)
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,223
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It's not temporary.
    To make it temporary, the loader would need to delete the game on each boot (because when you are loading the gamecube game, the Wii does not have the USBloader in memory so it can't know that the iso is temporary or not).
    When you exit the gamecube game, you either shutdown the wii, or reset the console, which doesn't go back to the loader automatically either, not knowing that you had a temporary game to delete.

    So, you need to delete it manually if you want to make space on your SD.
    In USBLoaderGX, it's asked automatically if there's not enough space to copy to SD, you have a menu to delete SD games. As it's long to transfer, why delete it and copy it again each time you reboot the game? just delete it when you really want to play another game.
    • Newcomer

    gooddegenerate New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    That's true. I just wanted to test SD gc games on dios mios lite and see if the shutting down thing stopped.
    • Newcomer

    Cresh07 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Message Count:
    82
    Location:
    Between keyboard and chair
    Country:
    United States
    This is probably not relevant anymore, but my oldness is showing. Looking to replace my (previously tried and true) hard drive for my Wii. I know back in the day that only certain drives would work, and certain others would not. Is this still the case now? If so, is there a list of what to look for/ be aware of when it comes to running back-ups on my wii? Much thanks in advance.
    • Newcomer

    Fhining New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Message Count:
    2
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hello Everyone! Im new here in GBA Temp! But not around the Scene... But i have a Big Question, i´ve been trying withou success to create a Wad Channel of Open WiiFlow this last version, i´ve done LOT OF other channels with Wadder and Customize Mii, but Its impossible to access OWF withou the SD inserted. I´ve been looking at this thread and cant find anyone who created a good Wad.

    If this possible to do? or Open WiiFlow just work via HBC and SD inside?

    Thank you so much!

    Cheers!
    • Newcomer

    giantman2878 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    This is a really bad question, but it has frustrated me to no end! How exactly do i update usbloader gx from 3.0 to R1207? I open up the file and all i see is two files saying boot.dol and elf.dol. Explain please!
    • Newcomer

    lwiz New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    55
    Country:
    Finland
    Copy those to your sd card into /apps/usbloader_gx directory that's already there. After that you can start it from HBC or if you have forwarder channel installed into system menu directly from that.
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,223
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    copy the boot.dol located in the "IOS249" folder into SD (or USB) /apps/usbloader_gx/boot.dol
    to verify that you have the correct version, go to the settings > credit.
    If you see "3.0c" then you launched the channel version, not the dol you just updated.
    • Newcomer

    Zarent New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Message Count:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Aight:
    I have a softmodded wii from a long time ago that I used to back up a bunch of my games. Brought it to college and everything worked fine.
    I used a combination of a 2GB SD Card and the Wiiflow loader from a while ago (maybe like rc version 254 or something?).

    When coming home for winter break, I learned that one of my suitemates misplaced my SD card.
    When I came home, I re-downloaded the most recent version of Wiiflow to my External Harddrive. It does get to the Wiiflow page, and I can download covers and use most of the functionality. I can't change the coverflow options (1 + 2) strangely enough. More importantly, when I click to start any game, the play music starts, then it changes over to a black screen and never starts to load.

    I've been using a doubly partitioned External Harddrive that has WBFS as an, I think, primary partition with all my games on it.
    Is this more likely to be an issue with not having my SD card, or is it from having a new version of Wiiflow? What other information would you guys need to solve this?
    • Newcomer

    cokeman118 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried to find the answer to my question on my own but I'm getting conflicting answers. I want to use WiiFLow with USB HDD, and I want to know if I can play Gamecube Games directly off of the HDD. I have read that you can only run them off of SD, preferably a class 10 SDHC, and that you must have either a real gamecube or wii game in the disc drive. Then I came across a video on Youtube that shows someone playing gamecube games directly from the HDD drive with no game disc in the wii, but never mentioned anything about using an SD card.

    So basically: Can I run GC games directly from the USB HDD? If not, do I need SD card and game disc?? Also, if you need SD would I have to keep changing the settings in WiiFlow back and forth between USB and SD just to play GC games?

    Thanks.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page