QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by OSW, May 17, 2009.

May 17, 2009

QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here! by OSW at 3:39 PM (222,205 Views / 1 Likes) 2,590 Comments

    • Former Staff

    OSW Wii King

    Member Since:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,800
    Country:
    Australia
    Please keep all newbie, short answer, or quick questions etc here to prevent clutter in the main forum. Particularly USB Loader questions.

    It is suggested that you read any relevant stickies first as you may find you answer is already there.

    And if all else fails, use the search engine.

    Something like NOOB PARIDISE http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=131...t=0&start=0 but we need it for this forum too.
    1 people like this.


    • Newcomer

    EddyWally New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Message Count:
    81
    Country:
    Belgium
    Can my wii brick if I install WAD's from trusted sites like this one?
    I mean, if it works with other people, is there a chance to brick my wii?
    I don't want to brick my wii, but I like the SNES channel.

    Thank You!

    Eddy Wallyfish
    • Member

    paul3100 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Message Count:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    yes

    If the wad in question is from a different region or hasn't been made properly then yes

    EDIT: the snes channel your talking about should be ok if others have tested and said its ok and there isn't usually an issue with what region its from if its an emulator or loader! , if your unsure of a wad and its region then use " freethewads " to convert to u/e/j or region free

    paul
    • Newcomer

    pandora New Member

    Member Since:
    May 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Quick but stupid question:
    After I install a WAD file using WADmanager, can I delete it from the SD card?
    In other words, does 'installing' the WAD copy it to the internal memory?

    Thanks!
    • Member

    kedest New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,008
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, installing a wad means copying it to the wii's nand (its internal flash memory)
    After that, you can delete it from SD. However, I would recommend you to keep a copy on your computer. If want to completely remove the wad a later time via wad manager, you'll need the wad file again
    • Newcomer

    pandora New Member

    Member Since:
    May 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Right, thanks a lot!
    • Newcomer

    kkthxbye New Member

    Member Since:
    May 17, 2009
    Message Count:
    15
    Country:
    Denmark
    Got a quick question for you - i have searched a lot, but can't find a difinitive answer:
    - I got it all running - installed CIOS rev10 - USB Loader.
    But my harddrive keeps entering sleepmode when playing (Still works, just freezes for a couple of seconds). It's a WD Elements 250 GB.

    Can this only be fixed, by taking the harddrive out of the case, and using HDPARM? Or is there a new CIOS that im missing?

    If i need to use HDPARM, is there a guide somewhere?


    Thanks [IMG]
    • Member

    LexLuthor New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Message Count:
    161
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quickly. So what are the most upto date loaders I should be using to play firstly Wii and then secondly Gamecube isos? I've totally lost track.

    Thanks alot!
    • Newcomer

    someperson_12345 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Message Count:
    11
    Country:
    Australia
    Quick Query [IMG]

    Is there a backup loader that doesn't need me to format my HDD as WBFS.
    As in can I use a standard filesystem such as NTFS or FAT32?

    What are the benefits of WBFS?
    • Member

    VISHI SO FISHI Cricket My love!

    Member Since:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    765
    Location:
    A kindom far far away!
    Country:
    India
    Why is the voice overs in sukiden teikers(i know the spelling isn't right) ds rpg game so fast!....i cant even understand em..
    • Member

    LexLuthor New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Message Count:
    161
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The answer im afraid is no. All the USB Loaders use this filesystem.
    WBFS has no use outside of running backups on the Wii so I guess its benefits are pretty limited.
    If your concerned that you don't want to use up an entire hard drive for a WBFS filesystem that isn't supported elsewhere, then I suggest you create a partition on your drive.

    By doing this you could potentially have 50% of your drive ready to boot isos with the USBLoader (a WBFS parition) and the other 50% for other stuff such as movies and junk (a NTFS or FAT32 partition). This is how I'm using my HDD.

    If you need help doing this let me know and I'll try and help you out.
    • Newcomer

    knuj_on New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Message Count:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I am interested in trying uLOADER 1.7 and have manged to find base IOS 36, 37 & 38. Is there a game that contains IOS60 ? (I have no WiFi for my Wii because of baby alarms etc. fludding the RF so I want to do a WAD install)

    ** Edit 21 May 2009 ** Discovered NUS Downloader, don't need any help with this any more !
    • Member

    2yugimoto New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    whats a back up launcher?
    • Newcomer

    AAlcoholic New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Message Count:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    Quick Question [IMG]

    I used N00bwarrior7's "The Backup Suite" (version 3 not final) to softmod my wii. Gamma was installed as a channel by using his all-.wad installer. That version doesn't have the 002 fix. How do I update to the new version with the 002 fix (I see that it's a dol, not a wad), and do I need to uninstall/remove the old one?
    • Newcomer

    someperson_12345 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Message Count:
    11
    Country:
    Australia
    I was just hoping I could use my current 120gb iPod as a external HDD, but its formatted in NTFS IIRC.
    Problem is if i created a WBFS partition then I won't be able to use my iPod as a music player. [IMG]

    Thanks anyways
    • Member

    BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Member Since:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    send me a PM for the link to Big Moe's Installer v3 and it does have the 002 fix in it [IMG]
    • Member

    LexLuthor New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Message Count:
    161
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I doubt weather your ipod would allow you to create a partition or that it would work as a music player if you could.
    I don't know though. There is a chance music might still play if you created a partition. Its at least worth researching.
    • Member

    alucard77 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Message Count:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    I am an extreme noob when it comes to USB Loader, but I can find my way around pretty well for the most part, so hopefully I will get this down rather quickly.

    I would like to use the Cover Flow USB ISO Loader by Beardface or Coverflow7 USB Loader, by Don Killah and Cdreams. The question is, do I need to follow the Tutorial to using USB Loader v1.1 and FAQs, or do these programs come with everything I need?

    Thanks for the info.
    • Newcomer

    AAlcoholic New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Message Count:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    After reading these forums, what I actually want to do is get bootmii on (I've installed HBC) and use NeoGamma R2 (unless I'm mistaken, it's the most up-to-date disc loader?). I think I'm short a few of the newer IOS's, and want to also update. How do I go about this (i.e. do i have to uninstall "The Backup Suite" first [if so, I no longer have the wads [IMG] ]?)?

    Can just install the newer cIOS rev10 (that is, will it just replace whichever one was installed via The Backup Suite), and then use ???? to get the missing IOS files (go to menu 4.0U, using gecko os and a recent game, dunno how to do this really).


    I've been reading, but it's a lot to grasp [IMG]
    T.I.A.
    • Member

    kosheh New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    568
    Country:
    United States
    I'm raging so hard right now - there's Backup Loader Gamma with the 002 fix (which I want to use, which is in my Homebrew stuff) but then I've got the Backup Loader channel (which is just plain old Gamma .3, with autoboot) Pardon me for being so vague, but

    I've got a channel that autoboots Gamma 0.3
    But on my SD card there's a Gamma 0.3 w/ 002 fix

    How would I make that one boot via the channel on my system menu?

Share This Page