new 3ds fuse problem? flashing blue light

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by lemon1, Mar 17, 2017.

Mar 17, 2017
  1. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Hello Everyone,

    I have been searching the forums with no luck. I have a new 2015 3DS and when I press the power button, the light flashes blue for literally a second then goes off. It was working with no issues before.

    It charges and I have disconnected all the cables and reconnected them and not joy.

    I have done my research and found that the NDS lite used to have this issue and replacing a fuse fixed it but I have not been able to find anything on the forums about this.

    Does anybody know where the fuses are on the new 3ds or offer any advise on how to fix it.

    Thanks a lot
     


  2. Dionicio3

    Member Dionicio3 GBATemp's Official Skiddo™

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    981
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Did you install a9hl on it?
     
  3. Havok10

    Newcomer Havok10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming the system is modded with A9LH/Luma:

    1. Make sure you memory card is seated properly (or even installed).
    2. Make sure arm9loaderhax.bin is in the root of the SD Card.
     
    Last edited by Havok10, Mar 17, 2017
  4. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't install any CFW on it just the original NDS software
     
  5. gaseoso

    Newcomer gaseoso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Chile
    Sounds exactly like what happened with an O3DS I had. Turns one of the ribbon cables going up to the upper half of the console was damaged, so the console was turning on, checking if everything was working, but halted when it failed to detect something (I think it was the upper screen cable).

    Have you tried opening the console and checking if everything is properly connected/undamaged?
     
  6. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I opened it up and all looks good
     
  7. Havok10

    Newcomer Havok10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    I would just contact Nintendo especially since it is stock.
     
    Dionicio3 likes this.
  8. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all your help, I bought it working second hand well over a year ago and they will not repair it as I dont have the receipt. Maybe I need to try find a 3rd party repair centre. Thanks for all your help. Normally I am quite good fixing things but this one has me stumped!
     
  9. Byokugen

    Member Byokugen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Just a bit to the right, or was left...
    Country:
    Serbia
    Just buy a ribbon cable for the top screen/speakers. This thing happened to one 3ds xl i had. How the cable died is beyond me, it was always on the table, didn't leave the room, let along the house even once, and died. So 10$ for the cable, 1 hour of fiddling and now it works
     
  10. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
  11. gaseoso

    Newcomer gaseoso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Chile
  12. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Ok perfect. I will keep on looking. Thanks a lot guys
     
  13. proflayton123

    Member proflayton123 just another user

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4,893
    Location:
    The Milky Way
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. vb_encryption_vb

    Member vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Canton, GA or Acworth, GA
    Country:
    United States
    You can't just swap a ribbon on n3ds, anyhow, could be ribbon related, could be blown fuse. Not sure, they are so small I don't bother with them. Trying to replace fuse that is.
     
  15. Byokugen

    Member Byokugen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Just a bit to the right, or was left...
    Country:
    Serbia
    If a fuse is dead, just dont bother with it, too tiny
     
  16. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,809
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what was the last thing you did with the system? that would help narrow down the actual issue, as with it being second hand it's possible it does actually have a9lh installed and you just didn't know, in which case if you swapped sd cards or deleted files off the sd card recently that might be why it no longer boots
     
  17. Byokugen

    Member Byokugen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Just a bit to the right, or was left...
    Country:
    Serbia
    He said, there was no cfw. Hey it happens, I just received ine for the repair. I know he had no cfw on it, he's a friend, and she was on a boat, working for 6 months, 3ds was at home, now same problems as OP. Build quality if you ask me
     
  18. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,809
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    he also bought it second hand, which is why it would be helpful to know what the last thing he did was, it is possible the previous owner did install a9lh and he simply didn't know
     
  19. lemon1
    OP

    Newcomer lemon1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys. I bought it second hand like a year ago. Now CFW on it just the official Nintendo one. When I received the device I wiped everything off it and started fresh. Last thing I did on the system was play smash bros.
     
  20. Byokugen

    Member Byokugen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Just a bit to the right, or was left...
    Country:
    Serbia
    So it played well? After you turned it off, when was the next rime you tries powering it on?
     

Share This Page