Hardware Fresh Setup - New 3DS Desired

jlongee

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey Everyone.

My son is really wanting to play a lot of the 3DS games. I picked up a Switch Lite for him thinking that we'd be able to get most of the games digitally, but that doesn't seem to be the case for a lot of the games he wants to play. Plus the fact that it doesn't have the dual screens changes a lot of things.

Since Nintendo no longer manufactures any new 3DS's, but I still want a new console, the best option seems to be imported JPN consoles in the mid $200's (I'm in US). Any still new US XL's appear to cost almost double that. It looks like I could flash the US firmware on there and mod it to run games from an SD card, is all of that accurate? I'm thinking of getting two so that he and I could play some of the games together.

I'm somewhat familiar with the process, I used to mess with R5 cards and CFW on other consoles, and I work in IT so as long as there's decent guides I don't think I'll have a major issue.

Thank you much for taking the time to help me out, I really appreciate it!

Edit: There are refurb's available for a decent price at something like Gamestop. Am I just better off with that option?

Last edited by jlongee,

Hark0n

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Hey Everyone.

My son is really wanting to play a lot of the 3DS games. I picked up a Switch Lite for him thinking that we'd be able to get most of the games digitally, but that doesn't seem to be the case for a lot of the games he wants to play. Plus the fact that it doesn't have the dual screens changes a lot of things.