3DS Wifi Connection is $hit?

Discussion in '3DS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by GamerzHell9137, Oct 30, 2012.

Oct 30, 2012
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 Hua

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,676
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I just can't believe.
    I had a Wii year ago and played MKWii online a lot :)
    Never had any problem.
    Then i sold my Wii and got a 3DS XL with Mario Kart 7.
    Tried online but its IMPOSSIBLE.
    Communication error,Communication error and Communication error.
    Its even impossible to play 1 race so i thought something is wrong at my home like modem or something like that.
    Today i borrowed friends Wii and tried MKWii again and it runs flawless.
    No lags,no disconnections, nothing.
    After trying many things like DMZ,Port forwarding changing modem securities, everything fails.
    So in the end 3DS Wifi connection sucks.. right?


    • Member

    Jiehfeng I'M FINE!

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    3,212
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    No. It doesn't suck.
    For me all the online multiplayer works fine. But I do not have MK7 (I'M GONNA GET IT!!!)
    There must be a problem
    • Newcomer

    Maisato New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Message Count:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    No issues with my wifi using my 3ds. It runs flawlessly on all games. Maybe your 3ds wifi receiver is bad. Would suggest getting a friends 3ds to see if it is your 3ds
    Jiehfeng likes this.
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 Hua

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,676
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    DS Wifi on 3DS works fine and the Wifi on the Wii too
    It sucks that i can't go online with the 3DS -.-
    • Member

    Jiehfeng I'M FINE!

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    3,212
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Well, the 3DS internet runs extremely fast. Something must be wrong
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 Hua

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,676
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I connected to friends Internet and it works fine on his.
    Thou he has faster internet.
    • Member

    xwatchmanx GBAtemp's Maverick Hunter

    Member Since:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    5,672
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's something with your connection, dude. I've played online with three different 3DSes (my old one, my girlfriend's, and my current XL) and I never have any problems. I use it for Mario Kart 7, plus more online intensive games, too (Kid Icarus Uprising, Street Fighter 3D).
    RodrigoDavy and Jiehfeng like this.
    • Member

    Jiehfeng I'M FINE!

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    3,212
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Nice games. I hope to get MK7. Is the game good and is online multiplayer fun?
    Please Reply.

    Well back to topic. :P Xwatchmanx is right
    Last edited by Jiehfeng, Nov 1, 2012
    • Member

    xwatchmanx GBAtemp's Maverick Hunter

    Member Since:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    5,672
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Personally, I've never really cared much for Mario Kart and don't play it often. Like every other Mario Kart I've played, 7 feels competitively unbalanced and cheap as a result (unavoidable blue shells are as cheap as you can get... at least the MK64 allowed you to dodge them with extreme precision and skill!).

    However, online play is great. it doesn't lag much, it's easy to make rooms, and it's really fun to play with friends. I seriously recommend it, despite everything in my last paragraph.
    Jiehfeng likes this.
    • Newcomer

    GammaGeorgeX New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Message Count:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Well, what I don't like is that WEP is just about the only option, but other than that, it's okay plus that the 3ds loads sort of slow anyways...
    • Member

    Gnargle I am not a New Member, I've been here since 2008!

    Member Since:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    568
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nintendo have supported WPA since the DSi.
    • Member

    Jiehfeng I'M FINE!

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    3,212
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    (This is not related to the topic)
    @xwatchmanx- So MK7s good. I'm going to china on the 6th so I will be getting it for a very cheap price.
    I want to buy two games so, my second would be either Kingdom hearts, kid icarus or NSMB2. What would I pick?
    • Member

    xwatchmanx GBAtemp's Maverick Hunter

    Member Since:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    5,672
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Kid Icarus Uprising, hands down. No contest. Trust me on this one. :)

    Anyway, you realize the 3DS is region locked, right? You need to make sure the games you get from China match your 3DS's region.
    Jiehfeng likes this.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,887
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    DS games can only use WEP, no matter what you stick them in.
    • Member

    RodrigoDavy AAAHHHHRRRRRRRR!

    Member Since:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,158
    Country:
    Brazil
    I have problems with lag when I am too far away from the router and/or the internet connection is slow. Since I got a better internet connection it is becoming rare to have lags now.

    EDIT: Maybe I have a bad quality router too, my MK7 connection only works with no flaws when i'm in the same room as the router is.
    Last edited by RodrigoDavy, Nov 1, 2012
    • Member

    xwatchmanx GBAtemp's Maverick Hunter

    Member Since:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    5,672
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I live in a one-room apartment where the router is literally never more than like 30 or 40 feet away from me, so that might be why I never experience lag. :P
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 Hua

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,676
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    My modem is in my room so that's not the problem.
    Tried DMZ,Port Forwarding and changing the securities.
    Still no success
    • Member

    lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento

    Member Since:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Message Count:
    939
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    MK7 with 8 drivers here is as good as MKWii with 12. I can run with no problems with 3mb/s connection
    • Member

    xwatchmanx GBAtemp's Maverick Hunter

    Member Since:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    5,672
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tested any friends' 3DS with the same router? And what kind of router are you using? Believe it or not, the cheapo ones just aren't cut for gaming. I have a netgear dualband "high performance" router designed for gaming (about $100).
    • Member

    pwsincd Garage Flower

    Member Since:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,741
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tried changing your wireless channel ? that helps with my ps3 crap wifi connection.
    Jiehfeng and Rydian like this.

Share This Page