Hacking 1st time hacking PS3 - Need some help

XaneTenshi

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Denmark
Hey guys
So I am new to PS3 hacking (but not hacking in general, I have a hacked Wii U and a hacked Switch), and since I recently went back to playing some PS3 games, I thought that it might be fun to finally try to hack my PS3 aswell.

I have a PS3 Slim (3K model I think) on OFW 4.82 and have done some research on what I can do. I want to install PS3HEN to enable Homebrew and was hoping to use this guide here: https://www.psx-place.com/threads/tutorial-ps3hen-the-great-ps3-hen-all-in-one-guide.24369/ however I have som questions before I start on this tutorial.

The tutorial seems to be for 4.86 and requires installing Hybrid Firmware in order to install HEN. I don't want to do that right now.

Do I absolutely have to update to 4.86 and install HFW to follow that tutorial, or can I simply go ahead and install PS3Hen (step 2 and onwards), since HFW only seems necessary if you are on 4.84+?

Do I lose any hacking opportunities if I update to 4.86?

What happens if I do the guide on OFW 4.82 and later decide to update to 4.86?

Is there anything else that I need to know before doing this?

Please do point out if I have missed something here, like I said, this is my first time hacking my PS3.

Last edited by XaneTenshi,

RaptorDMG

Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys
So I am new to PS3 hacking (but not hacking in general, I have a hacked Wii U and a hacked Switch), and since I recently went back to playing some PS3 games, I thought that it might be fun to finally try to hack my PS3 aswell.

I have a PS3 Slim (3K model I think) on OFW 4.82 and have done some research on what I can do. I want to install PS3HEN to enable Homebrew and was hoping to use this guide here: https://www.psx-place.com/threads/tutorial-ps3hen-the-great-ps3-hen-all-in-one-guide.24369/ however I have som questions before I start on this tutorial.