YSMenu Problems...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by iNintendo, Oct 19, 2009.

Oct 19, 2009

YSMenu Problems... by iNintendo at 6:23 AM (1,932 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. iNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer iNintendo Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    I was hoping somebody here can help me with my YSMenu problems...

    I have setup YSMenu as a media replacement (center button on R4) and it successfully boots games etc. There's only 2 issues that are bugging me;

    1. The file names in the top screen do not appear (I believe this to be a font issue, but do not know how to fix it).

    2. On the bottom screen, annoying text overlaps the bg picture and file icons, making it difficult to see which game it is etc...

    Are there any way to resolve these problems?

    Thanks in advance for any help [​IMG]

    PS This is what it looks like;

    [​IMG]
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd say you haven't installed it correctly. It looks like files are missing from the TTMenu folder. Try recopying it.

    edit : The TTMenu folder should look similar to this.

    infolib.dat
    language.ini
    reset.mse
    savlib.dat
    system.ank
    system.fon
    system.l2u
    system.u2l
    ttreset.dat
    ttsystem.ini
    USRCHEAT.DAT
     
  3. iNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer iNintendo Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    I checked the directory and all the files were there. I have that directory (TT Menu), YSMenu.nds, and 2 patch files that make up the entire YSMenu folder.

    I have an R4 Clone - The R4 SDHC Upgrade and so could not install the YSMenu as per normal, as I had to jimmy it a bit to work with the firmware...

    Could his have happened by missing some steps in the creation/compiling of the YSMenu??
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well the error messages being shown show that it can't open the files that are in the TTMenu folder. If they're definitely there then I'd say the problem is that YSMenu just isn't compatible with your card. Exactly which R4 SDHC Upgrade is it? What's the website address for the firmware?

    edit : I just noticed you said the TT Menu folder is there, is there a space in it on your card?
     
  5. iNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer iNintendo Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    my card's firmware is from this site;

    www.r4i-sdhc.com

    and no the folder has no space, the files are written correctly i just wrote that as a reference to the folder, not the actual folders name...

    other people have said they have got this to work on their R4 SDHC card, but nobody has written how [​IMG]
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The red box one is a clone of the DSTTi so you need to build YSMenu as if it's for a DSTT and not a R4. It's the problem with R4 clones, just cos it says R4 one the box doesn't necessarily make it one! lol

    edit : Actually now that I think about it, with a bit of file renaming you might even be able to just install the actual DSTT firmware on your card and boot it as the media replacement instead of YSMenu. Remember to use the latest unofficial firmware though. Can't guarantee it'll work but it's probably worth a shot.
     
  7. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    People HAVE written how. Your card is a DSTT clone, so follow the DSTT instructions.

    Why are you putting YSmenu on it anyway? What does YSmenu do that the official firmware doesn't already do, with much less setup?
     
  8. iNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer iNintendo Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the advic guys, theres so any diferent "ways" to get YSMenu on a DSTT so I'lltry them all and if any of them work I'll let you know...

    And i want YSMenu on it because I used to have the original R4 and so am used to that firmware. The firmware for the R4 SDHC is slow, it lags and just annoys me. What's the point in settling for second best when you can get the best out of your DS Card [​IMG]
     

Share This Page