Xbox HDD

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by HeyItzRayy, Oct 8, 2011.

Oct 8, 2011

Xbox HDD by HeyItzRayy at 11:33 PM (535 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. HeyItzRayy
    OP

    Newcomer HeyItzRayy Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know how to make a regular WD Portable HDD to an Xbox HDD?
     
  2. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    plug it into your xbox...

    if you want to use more than 16GB of it though...probably not possible. you need a specific type of WD sata harddrive and it needs to be completely reformatted. you'll likely have better luck with google than here.
     
  3. HeyItzRayy
    OP

    Newcomer HeyItzRayy Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Well I was hoping to make the hdd work with Halo Reach's theater.
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2.5" or 3.5" portable? If it's one of the 2.5" ones and has either one of the compatible scorpio series drives inside or one of the av-25 series, then hddhackr can be used on it to make it work the same as a normal xbox hdd would.

    You lose the portability though as it would need removing from the enclosure, you'd also lose any data that is on it now as hddhackr will wipe the partitions and set it up for you and then the xbox needs to format it. You're also limited in size as you have to stick to official sizes, so for example ,if you use a 120GB signature file on a 160GB, the xbox will only see 120GB.
     
  5. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Additional note. Not all portable 2.5" wd drive are sata (WD Element SE) they have a built in USB. So no point in taking those apart since they aren't hddhackr compatible.
     
  6. HeyItzRayy
    OP

    Newcomer HeyItzRayy Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    i just tried HDDHackr. I typed hddhackr, and it worked, but it gave me this screen where it shows a bunch of examples, then want me to type something.
     

Share This Page