WiiXplorer problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by MikeTR, Mar 27, 2012.

Mar 27, 2012

WiiXplorer problem by MikeTR at 9:02 PM (1,600 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hey guys, so recently I wanted to use the WiiXplorer to view pdf files on the Wii, since it can now.
    So i have place the dol on the apps in an apropriate folder, the icon is there, the xml is the thing that I don't think that isn't there but I didn't saw anything related to having to have it, ah I also installed the channel.

    So I run the program and it starts, then returns to the wii main menu again, just like that.

    So..what am I missing? e.e
     
  2. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    What revision of wiixplorer would that be?
     
  3. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I installed the v5 channel and I used the R212 dol.
     
  4. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok so i placed the files again in the sd AND the usb, and loaded through the channel, it started fine and I thought it was going to work but I got a Exception DSI occurred, and a lot of codes showed up like: GPR00 and a lot of numbers ahead until GPR07

    STACK DUMP:
    800cf3a8 -> 8006049c -> 8009df4c -> 8009deec

    Code Dump:
    800cf3a8: 81230000 80040000 7F890000 409E0048
    800cf3b8: 3D69FEFF 3D008080 380BFEFF 61088080
    800cf3c8: 7C094878 7D204039 41A2000C 48000068

    Just thought that might help xD

    This isn't the first time this happens to me, this error.

    So what now? x.x
     
  5. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    What harddisk are you having, and what partitions are on it?
    Try to launch it with the harddisk disconnected. See if it makes a difference.
     
  6. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    harddisk? I have a samsung SG, and the only partition that I have is from when i formated it to FAT32
    And with or without the harddisk, it has the same error.
    Curious enough, upon trying to open the homebre browser, the same error occurs, it happens when it says it's parsing the app list or something.
     
  7. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    samsung SG ? Doesn't ring a bell ?
     
  8. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    You're referring to the disk used to play the backups correct?
    And sorry it's Samsung S2
     
  9. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    change the sd card, if this is what you meant by SG.. samsung dosn't make an SG model hd.(never heard of that one either) could be the sd card isn't compatiable with the wii. or depending on the size of the card your using. i use transcend cards an never had problems with those.
     
  10. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I made a mistake, it's S2, and the card never gave me much problem, and I checked for compability and it checked out.
    The SD card is a 2GB Kingston
     
  11. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it in this case it will end up being an issue with the SD card, but Kingston has a really bad rap with techies who do data retrieval.
    Photographers are advised to stay away from them.
     
  12. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I see, since I didn't had any problems with Kingston, I went for it, and it was more accessible xD
     
  13. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    So, does it run without the samsung connected? I have an S2 as well, but it's a cellphone?
     
  14. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
  15. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    If it doesn't run, even with the harddisk disconnected, the issue can't be the harddisk.

    Do you have another sd(hc) card lying around to test with?

    I also notice on my setup that there are 2 cfg file in the apps/wiixplorer folder Wiixplorer.cfg and WiixplorerControls.cfg.
    Are you having those? I don't know what the behavour would be without them. Maybe the program creates them automatically.
    If you already have them, you could try to rename them and see if it makes a difference.

    Since the homebrew browser is giving you trouble as well, it looks like an issue on the sd card. Maybe reformatting it and placing the stuff on it again might fix it.
    Sometimes, parts of an sd partition become corrupt because you remove the card from your pc 2 fast.
     
  16. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I see! thank you, you've been very helpful.
    I'll try to check for that files, but i'll try to format and placing the files back again
     

Share This Page