Wiikey firmware update... CD or DVD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by NinjaGaijin, Feb 17, 2009.

Feb 17, 2009
  1. NinjaGaijin
    OP

    Newcomer NinjaGaijin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying to update the firmware on my wiikey, I have an original one, not the newer wiikey 2 or whatever it is. I have updated it is in the past without issue, but am having a hard time this time. I have downloaded the iso, burnt it to CD and tried to read it in the wii but it just spins and makes a strange noise in the drive and eventually the wii errors out. I have tried burning it to different cds at different speeds and everything to no avail. Does it need to be burned to a DVD to run the update? I don't remember how I did it last time.

    Also, I read some people saying about softmodding "damaging the firmware of the wii". Can anyone expound on this statement? I have my wii softmodded as well (I accidentally update the firmware to 3.4, so I downgraded back to 3.2u using a softmod workaround). Should I remove all the softmod type stuff and just stick with the wiikey?

    Thanks for any and all help

    Tim
     
  2. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    The Wii drive doesn't read CDs.
     
  3. NinjaGaijin
    OP

    Newcomer NinjaGaijin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Ah hah, no wonder then, I must have burned it to a DVD in the past. Even though the iso is so tiny.

    Thanks much sir, I will do the update tonight! Any thoughts on my latter statements?
     
  4. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Softmods DON'T damage the firmware of your wii. If you wanted to you could at anytime remove all of that it would be like you never had installed homebrew. [​IMG]
     
  5. NinjaGaijin
    OP

    Newcomer NinjaGaijin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States

    I figured as much, I don't see how you could "damage" firmware. Thanks sir
     
  6. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Actually you can. By updating your wii with a disk from another region, etc. But most likely you'll be fine, just stick with the more official routes and you'll be fine [​IMG]
     
  7. NinjaGaijin
    OP

    Newcomer NinjaGaijin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I see what you mean, but I don't think that would be damaging the firmware as much as it would be overwriting the firmware with another regions firmware, thus messing up your wii. I guess what I'm saying is that inherently you can't "damage" firmware.
     

Share This Page