Wii64 help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by sushiplatter, Feb 10, 2009.

Feb 10, 2009

Wii64 help! by sushiplatter at 1:25 AM (6,045 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. sushiplatter
    OP

    Newcomer sushiplatter Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I try to load Wii64 it freezes on the "load game" screen. What can I do to make this work? I have an NTSC U softmodded Wii, and I have a folder "n64roms" on my sd card with roms in it. Let me know if you need any other info.

    thanks in advance,

    SP
     
  2. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    rename to N64ROMS place on root of SD
    make N64SAVES on root of SD aswell
     
  3. sushiplatter
    OP

    Newcomer sushiplatter Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried that, and still no luck. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    Does wii64 ever work?
     
  4. Raylene2K7

    Member Raylene2K7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    parts unknown
    Country:
    Jamaica
    of course it works

    but don't espect to play ANYTHING, you better stick with an emulator for the PC
     
  5. celebi23

    Newcomer celebi23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I don't mean to seem like I'm hijacking this topic but, anyone able to compile the latest build? I've tried to compile it on Windows & a Mac (both with devkitPPC R16 installed properly) and I get errors both times. The latest build is r473. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. timishu

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    Well, this may sound stupid, but make sure that your HBC is the most recent edition, and make sure that if you have 3.4, you downgrade the firmware of IOS. I had the same problem for a while and then if found out that I had incorrectly installed HBC.
     
  7. lavamasta

    Member lavamasta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    i get the same problem... also, when i installed my wiiware/vc games to my wii, some of the n64 games didnt work like quest 64 [​IMG] y is that? do i need to use wii64 with it?
     
  8. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ive never been able to load any Roms with that thing. Ive given up and stayed with PJ64 for PC. Or just use wads !!!
     
  10. Digital1980

    Member Digital1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
  11. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States

    I'm guessing it's the latest build. (Thanks)

    It works for me, though the speed isn't improved (wasn't expecting it to be)
    Debug and FPS are initially turned on. They can be turned off in the menu (Press reset on the Wii to get back to the menu after starting a game)
     
  12. sushiplatter
    OP

    Newcomer sushiplatter Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I figured out my problem. I wasn't using the VC controller, d'oh. Now it works but some of the roms I load are terrible. Thanks for all the help.
     
  13. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    This is kinda offtopic, but can you use Wii64 to play roms only with a wiimote?
     
  14. sushiplatter
    OP

    Newcomer sushiplatter Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know you need the VC controller hooked up to the wiimote, or the gamecube controller.
     
  15. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    Damn it. >_>
     
  16. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys! Trying my best to find out as much info myself without asking but looks like I need to now. [​IMG]

    OK, I got Wii64 from the WiiBrew page. I got a few roms (.N64, .Z64 & .V64 which WiiBrew says it supports) and the app loads fine. When I go to load a ROM it says, "An error occured". I haven't tested the ROMs on a PC but I assume they work??

    WiiBrew doesn't say it supports SDHC but it also doesn't say it doesn't? [​IMG] Could that be the prob? 4G.

    Oh, I also followed:
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii64

    Thanx guys! [​IMG]

    EDIT:
    OK. I think I know the problem. I don't think it supports SDHC. I used a 2G card and it loaded fine.

    It's pretty sloooww, though...? Ahh well. Might just stick to N64 VC. I wanted to play Perfect Dark, Mega Man 64 and Golden Eye 007.
     

Share This Page