Wii storage question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Eikon, Aug 28, 2008.

Aug 28, 2008

Wii storage question by Eikon at 1:31 AM (1,492 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Eikon
    OP

    Newcomer Eikon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed that when I accidentally install a WAD with WAD installer when my Wii is low on internal memory, the WAD still manages to be installed correctly and is playable. How can the Wii hold another 300 blocks when the data management menu shows zero are available? Where are those 300 extra blocks being stored?
     
  2. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    the wii will use the space for the message board and store some data on to the ram.
     
  3. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the Wii has a buffer zone where it has some free space even though it may read 0. It's like how cars still have a little bit of gas in the tank even though it might read as E.
     
  4. priapism

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm that is weird.

    i have tried to install Wad files when i have a few blocks left and the Wii gives me a message that says there isn't enough space for the install. how come i don't have a buffer?
     
  5. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Different Circumstances.....
     
  6. a3HeadedMonkey

    Newcomer a3HeadedMonkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Speaking of storage.. does anyone know the maximum size SD card I can use, if I'm only using it for Homebrew storage?
     
  7. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Its not 2GB, you can go higher than that if its only for Homebrew.
     
  9. that1dude

    Newcomer that1dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    No, because the wii doesn't have sdhc support. It will recognize cards up to 2gb.
     
  10. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    This topic:

    Code:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=99545&pid=1329440&st=0&#entry1329440
     
  11. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    i thought fat had a 2gb limit...

    also your wii will read the partition but only be able to use the first 2gb of a 4gb card...i have tried anything in hbc, but if it was usable, don't you think everyone would know about it? no, we just have lots or threads about if it does or not instead, no solid answers
     
  12. pinesal

    Member pinesal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Guys, Wii apperently does NOT support SDHC. So it officially only supports SD cards up to 2GB. However there are some NON SDHC cards that are 4GB. These card so not comply with SD standards, though they are safe to use.

    So the Wii will read a 4GB SD card as long as it is NOT SDHC.
     
  13. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Fixed
     
  14. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only the Homebrew Channel can see all 4GB, but the Wii itself can only read the 2GB on the Data Management Menu.
     

Share This Page