What IF you boot a Wiikey Config Disk?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Framework43, Sep 22, 2008.

Sep 22, 2008
  1. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    What if you were to boot the wiikey config iso with the sdboot?(without a modchip)
    It wouldnt do anything right?
     
  2. atomikramp

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    can you boot it?
    how?
     
  3. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    You can use the Gamecube Homebrew Launcher to use the gamecube backup sdboot
     
  4. atomikramp

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    but i think the wiikey disk is in wii mode..
    you can't load it using gc mode... afaik
     
  5. Zantetsu

    Newcomer Zantetsu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you want to boot a wiikey config disk if you don't have a wiikey? [​IMG]
     
  6. HaTaX

    Member HaTaX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    It wouldn't do anything without a wiikey because there's no hardware for it to talk to.

    And the Wiikey config disc does in fact work entirely in gamecube mode, that's why you have to use a gamecube controller to navigate and cannot use a wiimote.
     
  7. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Cant we emulate the wiikey like the things it does to confuse the dvd drive via software?
     
  8. jwcgator

    Member jwcgator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    ...................

    No.
     
  9. crescentsaber

    Newcomer crescentsaber Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    Australia
    um... lol ? *facepalm*
     
  10. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    The wiikey tricks the DVD Drive into thinking the backup is genuine.
    So, I dont know why we cant do that via software? Is starlet the reason?
    And how exactly does this flashing of the dvd drive through the wiikey work?
    It boots into gamecube mode where everything is disabled..So does this disable the starlet chip and give the ability to write code to the drive?
    Sorry I talk so much..Im just curious.
     
  11. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious too! Things like:
    - Why can't you use the search button?
    - Why can't you go back and browse past topics to find obvious answers?
    - Why you have over 100 posts in your short time here at GBATemp and haven't yet figured out how to read instead of write?
    - Why am I so bitter? [​IMG]
     
  12. telefunkin

    Newcomer telefunkin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    by the ocean
    Country:
    Canada
    Because you touch yourself at night.....
     
  13. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the immature replies.It really helped -.-
     
  14. Notorious9i6

    Newcomer Notorious9i6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    why must there be so many noobs,
    The Wiikey Is a Drive Chip mod, which the wiikey disc configs.
    If the wiikey isn't there... well get it kiddo?
     

Share This Page