Weird fitting HP RAM

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Linkiboy, Jan 3, 2009.

Jan 3, 2009

Weird fitting HP RAM by Linkiboy at 4:59 PM (1,052 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Linkiboy
    OP

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I have a laptop PC that takes 200-pin standard laptop RAM at 333mhz... or so I thought. But when I tried to install a new module, the module was slightly too wide. Is this because of HP or is there some special RAM thats wider by a bit than regular 200 pin ram but still 200 pin?
     
  2. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    I do know that DDR2 RAM and DDR ones are not of the same size, DDR2 is just slightly wider... maybe you're trying to install incompatible RAM?

    I'd wait for FAST's explanation [​IMG]
     
  3. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    333mhz is DDR1, DDR1 comes in 266, 333 and 400mhz. DDR2 comes in 533, 667 and 800mhz. If your trying to put a 333mhz module in your laptop and it wont fit it probably means your laptop uses DDR2, there is a slight difference in size between DDR 1 and 2, and the notch in them is in a slightly different position.
     
  4. Linkiboy
    OP

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Could you sand off the RAM to fit it in? I mean... not like I'm going to use it elsewhere.
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sound like a bad idea to do that to a multi layered PCB [​IMG]. Also if it is DDR1 and not 2 and your mobo wants 2 or vise versa, then sanding it off won't help you one bit [​IMG].
     
  6. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Lmao no you cant! [​IMG]
     
  7. Linkiboy
    OP

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I'll just sell it or give it or something then
     

Share This Page