Web Browser in the Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Saco, Jun 20, 2009.

Jun 20, 2009

Web Browser in the Wii by Saco at 1:11 AM (1,556 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Saco
    OP

    Newcomer Saco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    So, how come there is no Web Browser available for the Homebrew Channel, does it have something to do with technical limitations about the Wii?

    I would really like to surf the web on the Wii but I dont really feel like buying the Internet Channel [​IMG]
     
  2. RiderLeangle

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    Because theres really no point to do so.
    You could either use the trick turning the Wii Shop Channel into a browser or you could just download a .wad of the internet channel
     
  3. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Or use NUS Downloader (much quicker than downloading a WAD for me)
     
  4. Base

    Newcomer Base Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Australia
    Care to explain how to do the trick?
    [​IMG]
     
  5. WiiLee

    Member WiiLee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsxuMmSo05U
     
  6. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Apparently it's been blocked by Nintendo just a few weeks after that trick
     
  7. clownz

    Member clownz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    i think that trick is pretty old, it was before the opera browser was out for the wii.
     
  8. Saco
    OP

    Newcomer Saco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    Care to point where to get it? I've been googling for a while and could only find .wads that work on 3.x only. I have 4.0
     
  9. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    first diwngrade via anyregion changer then instal the wad and then upgrade back [​IMG]
     
  10. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    wads are wads, there is no "special " versions for 3.xx or 4.0
    Read the forum to know how to be able to install Wads on 4.0

    Otherwise, if you want it so much, you could also get it legally from the Shop Channel , it's quite cheap actually
     

Share This Page