Utilmate USB Loader Hangs on PIKMIN 2 PAL > NTSC

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by zubber, Apr 29, 2009.

Apr 29, 2009
  1. zubber
    OP

    Newcomer zubber Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    The loader simply hangs in green screen when loading PIKMIN 2 PAL with NTSC video (System Default : NTSC-U) output configured.

    any solution?
     
  2. WaRMarinE

    Member WaRMarinE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    You can use the patched modes that come with the loader, but im not sure wich combination is the right one :\
     
  3. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    This is because Pikmin 2 (along with Little King's Story, and apparently several other new games) doesn't have NTSC video code on the disc. The vast majority of older games had both PAL and NTSC included, so there was no problem forcing it. Unfortunately, you can't force a mode that doesn't exist. Your two options are 1: play on an HDtv (many will accept PAL input... mine does for most games, but it doesn't like Little King's format... dunno about Pikmin 2 yet), and 2: wait for the NTSC release.
     
  4. zubber
    OP

    Newcomer zubber Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    hey thanks.

    your reply IS the answer! no wonder, i did everything i could. both my TVs are still analog, love the color on them actually. plan to get a plasma (personally prefer plasma over lcd) on thanksgiving, will definitely check if they support multisystem( ntsc, pal, etc)

    so, at the moment, the only option is to wait. either for a ntsc ver of pikmin2 or a new plasma.
     
  5. Tujiro

    Newcomer Tujiro Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Since that last statement about the NTSC code. Would it then be possible to inject NTSC code onto a ".ISO" of Pikmin 2 or even LKS? Or into the disc structure, possibly off of another source with NTSC code written so that it might "trick" it into working?

    Btw, I'm new here! Hi to everyone. Gratefully I'm not too concerned about it, and I can wait for the true NTSC-U rls' but this question I have came up. :) TIA!

    And, I hope I haven't violated the UA here. :) I didn't mean to if I did.
     
  6. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
  7. Tujiro

    Newcomer Tujiro Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Be sure to wipe. [​IMG]
     
  8. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Nope.

    It may be possible if you could acquire the sourcecode of the game from the developer/publisher, but I think we know the likelihood of that actually ever happening [​IMG]
     

Share This Page