Update a wii without internet connection?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by erolz, Oct 30, 2008.

Oct 30, 2008
  1. erolz
    OP

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi,

    is it possible to update an (old v2 software) wii without internet conenection?
    or is there no reason to update if you dont use the internet, mii and shopchannel?
    thanx!
     
  2. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    you still can update with a game disc. Some have updates on them, you know.
    I think on wiibrew.org somewhere you could check which update is on which game.
    But be careful with the update from Wii Music. Some said Wii Music comes with the new 3.3 update...
     
  3. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I think you can update with update files from nintendo server on the right folder on your SDcard.

    example for the IOS36 :
    SD:/00000001/00000024/v1042/ HERE you put all the downloaded file with the ticket and tmd too.


    edit:
    I didn't test it, so I don't know if the wii will automatically detect and install.
     
  4. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    all the files are in my zip , and u can put them onto an SD card. but you dont really need to update
    It may cause you more problems than anythig else so if it works let it be
     
  5. haunted6108

    Newcomer haunted6108 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You shouldn't update and don't really need to but wii music and GHWT have the new updates on them
     
  6. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you could just get updates off the discs and use wadmanager to install the updates. or just play a really new game
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For someone else's wii, i need a PAL game with the 3.2E update on it. Do you guys know such a game?
     
  8. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mario galaxy, ssbb
     
  9. erolz
    OP

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    how can i do this? can i just update an old v2 wii to 3.2 software with no problems?
     
  10. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i just thought, if you want to update to 3.2 then just use waninkokos downgrader and sellect 3.2 and it will get all the updates you need.
     
  11. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    i've been trying to find out a way...
     
  12. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    He doesn't have an internet connexion on his wii, and the downgrader download the files from nintendo servers.


    I think the best way is to use WUM (Wii Update Manager), download the update you want from it, and patch an iso.
    Of course only if you have a modchip. else you could use the backup loader, but I don't know if it let you run the update partition.

    Last choice is to play an original game with the update you want.


    WUM : http://wum.talevas.com/
    List of update from games : http://wum.talevas.com/?page=dev
     
  13. Cmurda187

    Member Cmurda187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    The depths of HELL
    Country:
    United States
    hi all why can't u just scrub the iso before burning. This way you can remove the update better known as 001 error. At least I think thats what it is called. I know it takes more time to do this but can save u from updating. [​IMG]
     
  14. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Actually he wants to UPDATE, not to avoid it...!! [​IMG]
     
  15. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    And plus, Scrubbing does not remove the update, it only help compress the iso.
    and the 0001 error is in no way releated to update.

    please if you want to help people, try it yourself before so you know what you are talking.
    thanks.
     

Share This Page