Ubuntu Programs

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by x-mah-D, Feb 28, 2009.

Feb 28, 2009

Ubuntu Programs by x-mah-D at 10:08 AM (1,451 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. x-mah-D
    OP

    Banned x-mah-D Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok i've recently installed ubuntu linux in a VM ware cause theres alot of rave about it.
    Theres been a few hick-ups
    Uninstalling/installing via command gets annoying

    I've got wine its good..
    I made a quick app in vb for it but it didn't load it

    It's found my whole network and all
    I'm impressed

    SO whats some must have linux apps
     
  2. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dude, don't bother to even use Linux, just use Windows ffs, it's good enough.

    And what do you mean by Must Have linux app?

    It's not like, that linux is a homebrew device, and there are just a few good programs out there.

    There is an app for everything!
     
  3. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    click applications -> add/remove instead of installing via command line.

    as for "must have" linux apps, that's just stupid, linux can do everything windows can.
     
  4. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Amarok is a must
     
  5. x-mah-D
    OP

    Banned x-mah-D Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    There are alot of good apps for windows out there eg photoshop well on linux it Gimp for photoediting

    I installed a codec pack so it could play mp3s....

    Then i got an initramfs error upon boot but a reboot fixed

    and last night i had to install vmware tools witch seems to changed my kernal

    cuase it used to just boot into ubuntu but now it comes up with a check list says
    a pile ok [OK]'s

    I'm new to this stuff give me a chance...

    There must be good programs for linux like windows.
    Also now i've installed vmware tools it has updates like 270
    and theres kernal updates so i don't want to screw up my hours installation to get things perfect
     
  6. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well there's no good games for Linux since if they ever did come out for Linux they'd also be available on Windows. As for apps, there's basically anything ever made for other OS's just under a different name.
     
  7. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I take it you've never installed the bsdgames package? [​IMG]
     
  8. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly what good games are in it?
     
  9. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just because this thread is silly I want to reply too, but all I can do really is bash on these comments:
    Wrong cause with the wrong effect, the first being wrong all together (for example Unreal Tournament) depending of course on your preference in games. Then there is the fact that some if not most games DO run (quite well in some cases, RA3 for example), al be it some under Wine. Because windows, and directX, is the most popular under gamers (as most games were made for it, it's a circel) the odds of things being released for Linux are slim to none. Even though the UT engine properly supports opengl and has been written for linux also, getting the extra license for it tends to be thought of as more expensive then the support of the user base running Linux (only) is worth. EVE online recently cancelled their Linux client developement, quite sad really.
     
  10. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tried urban terror? open arena? and the hundreds of other games that run on linux?

    no? then GTFO until you have.
     
  11. x-mah-D
    OP

    Banned x-mah-D Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the help

    It's running fine
    I just dont know about updating the kernal...

    Along the way of installing vmware tools it came up with crap so i kept hitting enter and i antecedent went past the screen resolution so now every time i boot into ubuntu it has a big res and i have to login and change it back down every time.
     
  12. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can simply change your corg.conf (/etc/X11/xorg.conf) to not allow such large resolutions. There should be an application for that too in case you don't want to use the terminal. Btw if you are going to change your xorg.conf please make a backup before doing so, that will make sure when you screw up the settings you can simply copy back the original one to start over again [​IMG].
     
  13. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    I agree, i had Ubuntu on my laptop for a year, i was really impressed with it, but in my case it just wasn't so practical, im dual booting t with XP, and to be honest i find myself in XP more often. Anyway to stay on topic you could check out Amorak, Emescene?
     
  14. x-mah-D
    OP

    Banned x-mah-D Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    Pidgin....Uck..

    I Don't like that...
    I prefer aMSN.

    Some will not agree i guess but i prefer it..
    Pidgin to me seems unfinished...

    I'm trying to find out how to access the vmware-tools.pl (?)
    and there i should be able to change the res

    When i got on it this morning the only thing that was out of wack was the login screen but after that it went back to the right res..

    Also i'm just wondering if you linux gurus know how to switch it to auto-login instead of having to type in usrmane and pass
    There was an option when i installed to do so but i didn't want auto login but now i do.
     
  15. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    system -> administration -> login window

    select security tab

    its a little hidden, but that's a good thing....
     
  16. x-mah-D
    OP

    Banned x-mah-D Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    Xfire?
    I never seen that login for pidgin
    cause i use xfire alot...??
    im on 8.10
    I"ll go check this out now
     
  17. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://gfire.site40.net/

    (For your information, pidgin used to be called GAIM, hence the name "Gfire")
     

Share This Page