TriiForce beta testing

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiPower, Aug 5, 2009.

Aug 5, 2009

TriiForce beta testing by WiiPower at 2:04 PM (315,858 Views / 0 Likes) 1,316 replies

  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Latest version:
    http://code.google.com/p/triiforce/source/.../#svn/trunk/HBC

    Recommend cIOS:
    Wait for cIOSrev21. The latest cIOS with working nand emu is rev17 and that has some known bugs. The nand emu in rev20 seems to be totally broken and Waninkoko confirmed that it does not contain some important changes he made.

    When cIOSrev21 is released, i would like to focus testing and reporting on cIOS56rev21. It seems IOS56 is the superior choice as base IOS:
    http://gbatemp.net/t243593-monster-hunter-...nstrument-games
    So i would like to know if it works for VC/WiiWare in general and for the nand emu too.

    Very old versions:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Q: What is TriiForce?
    A: It's a VC/WiiWare launcher that launches channels that are installed on nand or nand emu. Support for 4.x sd menu won't be implemented.
    Coders are: Nicksasa, The Lemon Man and WiiPower.
    Graphics(HBC, app and channel) by Empyr69er

    Q: Is the nand emu dangerous?
    A: It *should* not be dangerous, but since this is the 1st app to really use it, noboy can say that for sure. If you don't have BootMii as boot2, wait until enough guinea pigs tested it.

    Q: What's to test NOW?(will be updated with each new version)
    A: Nothing.

    Q: Where does the forwarder look?
    A: It looks on sd:/apps/TriiForce/boot.dol first and then sd:/TriiFrorce/boot.dol. If both do not exist, it launches the integrated .dol.


    Requirements for TriiForce:
    - a cIOS installed, rev7 or higher should work

    Requirements for nand emu:
    - cIOS rev14


    Known bugs:
    - (Not a bug, but people complain:) Some VC/WiiWare titles from the wrong region can only be played with "Default Video Mode" and is in wrong colors then, and maybe has a jumping screen
    - Some VC/WiiWare freezes with a black screen when started with certain video modes. The reason for this is still totally unclear.
    - video mode patches don't work
    - returning to wii menu doesn't work with enabled nand emu
    - bugs related to tries to mount sd or usb as nand when the device is not connected or does not have a FAT partition
     


  2. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I already tested Super Metrroid ant it works perfectly. I'll test language patches in a while though

    EDIT: Super Metroid is PAL
     
  3. 2MuchC0ffeeMan

    Newcomer 2MuchC0ffeeMan Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
  4. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
      ?
    ? ?

    newfags can't triiforce. [​IMG]

    Srsly tho guise, thanks for the awesome app! [​IMG]
     
  5. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    Just wanted to add, I also plan on doing some beta testing of this app later this evening, I'll be sure to report back with results. I just didn't want to edit my last post to add that comment, to prevent looking look like a newfag. [​IMG]
     
  6. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    If you say "fixed in the latest svn" you should at least give out the svn link. [​IMG]

    Unless it's secret, but it's all too easy to figure out.
     
  7. snikerz

    Member snikerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    Liechtenstein
    http://code.google.com/p/triiforce/ [​IMG]
     
  8. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I already said "all too easy to figure out" in case (for some reason) he didn't want people knowing it ATM. [​IMG]
     
  9. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3 Jap Wiiware games that i previously couldn't get to work after trying allsorts of methods now work with TriiForce [​IMG] the 3 games are;
    Asobu.Made.in.Ore.WiiWare.JAP
    Kimi.to.Boku.to.Rittai.WiiWare.JAP
    Okiraku.Tennis.WiiWare.JPN
    I'm on 4.1E with cIOS36_rev10 and thanks Wiipower Nicksasa and The Lemon Man
     
  10. sess

    Member sess GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sao Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    World of Goo (NTSC-U)
    Swords & Soldiers (PAL)
    Contra ReBirth (NTSC-J)

    All working.
     
  11. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you need language patching? Did they just work? What about video modes?
     
  12. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    ▲ ▲

    Good app though. :-)
     
  13. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for not mentioning earlier;
    Asobu.Made.in.Ore.WiiWare.JAP only works in channel region (red and black colours) and default language
    Kimi.to.Boku.to.Rittai.WiiWare.JAP only works in channel region (red and black colours) and default language
    Okiraku.Tennis.WiiWare.JPN works in Wii region(RGB for me)and default language but freezes and makes a buzzing sound when i press the home button similar to Okiraku.Ping.Pong.WiiWare.JAP
     
  14. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]

    That's what I get. I can't change "???" but "Channel region" and "Default Language". Choosing "Start" code dumps the app. :/

    Same hapens with rev15 from SVN.
     
  15. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean installed on nand? I get that this is a big deal and its what CIOS 14 is about but i dont get what it does/how to use it. Can someone help me out?
     
  16. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    It's a channel loader for wiiware And vc. Right now there testing it for loading games from NAND so it can be ready to load games from a NAND emulator when it's released.

    Installed on NAND means games that are installed on the wii
     
  17. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany

    Scrap this. I can change "???" but it will only change to another "???" until I get the only WiiWare installed on my Wii's NAND (MegaMan 9).

    Those "???" therefore should be channels created by Loadstructor. So the application isn't compatible with those. As a workaround you could test the TitleID to start with "U" (every Loadstructor channel starts with it) and then remove it from the list/don't list it there.
     
  18. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Then don't bother for now.
     
  19. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm, then Loadstructor does something unusal. These channels have banners, right?
     
  20. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    Also, loading self made channels doesnt work, you will get a code dump on that
    for now, only vc/wiiware games will work
     

Share This Page