THE DISC COULD NOT BE READ

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ykoops, Dec 5, 2010.

Dec 5, 2010

THE DISC COULD NOT BE READ by ykoops at 1:27 PM (6,176 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. ykoops
    OP

    Newcomer ykoops Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I'm having the some problems with my back up games. None of my new games work and these include:- Tom Clancys Ghost Recon - Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Remington Great American Bird Hunt - The Sims 3 - Minute to Win - Wii Fit Plus to mention but a few. Call of Duty Black Ops works a treat. I'm loading via Neogamma r8 and using cIOS249[57]-v20.wad and on version 4.1E. The error refers to THE DISC COULD NOT BE READ. REFER TO THE WII OPERATIONS MANUAL FOR DETAILS. Any help to sort this problem will be very much appreciated.
     
  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What kind of DVD's are you using ? -R or +R ??

    If you use +R you should change it's booktype to -R.
     
  3. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    You should use DVD-R only, then make sure you DO burn Wii Game Isos at @2,4 using good recording software (Like, IMGburn), and use a good DVD recorder device, like LG, but try to prevent those combo- bundled with laptops. (Although I do burn mines from my laptop, hehe.)



    If your Wii is old (+2years) plus mod-chipped, most probably your wii´s lens is dying.
     
  4. ykoops
    OP

    Newcomer ykoops Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Thanks for the reply.............Using Verbatim DVD - R and burning with imageburn have been doing this for a while with out any problems. The problems started when I got Call of Duty Black Ops to work with CIOS 249(57)r20.

    So may be a conflict somewhere?
     
  5. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    You may acquire another media brand. Verbatim gave me a lot of problems while I played Backups on my chipped Gamecube.

    Cursor, ridata, ritek, those have the best results to me (All DVD-R)
     
  6. ankc

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    try loading from usb...if it loads then its probably a bad burn or lens dying...
     
  7. ykoops
    OP

    Newcomer ykoops Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Again

    Don't think its the lens or a bad burn as all my other games play ok without any problems, as I said the problems started after installing CIOS 249(57)r20 to get call of duty balck ops to play. Just Tried Michael Jackson The Experience, got past the introduction and the same error happened. ALL my other games play with out any problems.

    Any pointers on using USB as I have always used neogamma with out any problems
     
  8. oliverbomb

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Same problem since I got REV 16 or so... got used to it [​IMG]
     
  9. ankc

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    you tried burning the same game twice?
     
  10. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    If you want to verify if your disc burns and/or the game images are good you can re-rip the game off your backup discs using Wii Backup Manager and verify the ripped images using Wiim's ISO Tool.

    -[]D
     
  11. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Sorry that you are getting the generic "faulty disc", Use DVD -Rs, check your burn etc etc type of replies. Obviously people are not reading your actual messages. To truly eliminate disc/burner as an issue I would suggest you re-burn a game that you have already burnt in the past and is still working fine and see if it plays.
    Thing is Neogamma is better suited to a base of 56 or 38 which I suspect was what your slot 249 was on originally (the readme for r8 recommends rev19 with a base of 38). A better solution would have been to install rev 20 with base 57 in slot 250 and keep your original slot 249 as it was. That way you could play problematic games such as COD BO using slot 250 and keep the status quo for previous games on slot 249. However I don't know if neogamma has the option to use slot 250! What you could do is re-install what was your previous cIOS revision into slot 250 if it does. Also make sure your options are set as per the readme eg no hooktype etc.
    Other options would be to use loaders (if neogamma doesn't have slot 250 as an option) that allow disc loading and also have the slot 250 option. I use both cfg and GX and I merely installed rev20b to slot 250 with a base of 57 purely to play COD BO. I have USB loading but they both have a disc loading option too.
     
  12. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    -[]D
     
  13. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    You might want to upgrade NeoGamma to a newer version (9) and do a fresh installation of Waninkoko´s CIOS 249@base 57 rather than acquiring wads. I personally do not trust them.

    And by the way, the OP didn´t gave enough details at first so more info was needed.
     
  14. outcast22

    Newcomer outcast22 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried to upgrade Neogamma to latest and I'm still getting a game with no color and error message after loading to main screen in the MJ Experience game.Anybody go a definitive fix?
     
  15. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    No color means you must force it from PAL to NTSC (in Neogamma Wii Settings).In the other hand the error message would be an interfering modchip, a dying lens, or your wii simply dislikes verbatim DVD-R media. The burner also is important; expect good results from a LG drive (at least, i've ben lucky with 3 of them regarding to Wii media backups)
     

Share This Page