1. andypin2002

    OP andypin2002 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    As the title says, that's exactly what happens. I'm trying to hack my switch; I follow all the steps, and get my console in RCM mode, but when I connect it to my computer in order to run the payload, it turns on automatically. What happens? How can I fix this?
     
    Last edited by andypin2002, May 16, 2018
  2. limpbiz411

    limpbiz411 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    its designed like that lol hold the volume up and plug in that usb cord and bam you're in rcm mode
     
    RaduT and andypin2002 like this.
  3. andypin2002

    OP andypin2002 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe I should have explicitly stated that I am trying to hack it.
     
  4. limpbiz411

    limpbiz411 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    it's still designed like that by default
     
  5. andypin2002

    OP andypin2002 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Then... How can I stop it from turning on, so that I'm able to run the payload?
     
  6. uyjulian

    uyjulian Homebrewer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Country:
    United States
    You don't.
    Hold the volume button up + insert the jig, then insert your cable into the Switch.
    Now the Switch is in RCM mode. You can send your payload now.
     
    Last edited by uyjulian, May 16, 2018
    andypin2002 likes this.
  7. Soluble

    Soluble GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Plug it in, wait for it to boot, power down then enter RCM
     
    MightyMoe and andypin2002 like this.
  8. limpbiz411

    limpbiz411 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    all you want to do is put your jig in, hold down volume up and put your usb cable in and youre in rcm mode. you don't even need to press the power button.
     
    Purple_Shyguy and The9thBit like this.
  9. Galahad121

    Galahad121 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Brazil
    If it turns on it means that it didn't enter rcm mode, in other words, your jig/tin foil/paperclip didn't work. If you're sure it's working try pressing + and power longer.
     
  10. andypin2002

    OP andypin2002 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, now I've got another problem. My computer won't recognize my switch. It does have USB 3 ports...

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    NEVERMIND GOT IT
    NEVERMIND. GOT IT
     
  11. Galahad121

    Galahad121 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you're using windows maybe it's a usb driver problem? Launching payloads in windows is kinda awkward.
     
  12. andypin2002

    OP andypin2002 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you all for your help. I already solved my problem thanks to you all!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - connected, computer, Switch