Steam and DRM

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by eltrut, Sep 5, 2010.

Sep 5, 2010

Steam and DRM by eltrut at 9:52 AM (1,285 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. eltrut
    OP

    Member eltrut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Australia
    I want to buy Recettear but if I buy it on Steam will it add DRM? I like to have backups of all my games on a external harddrive or a USB and if possible have it so I can drag and drop folders with installed games between USBs and computers.

    This page says that it wont have DRM normally, which I think it probably wont as most of the Japanese indie games I play don't.
     
  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    The Steam page does not mention any additional DRM, but I think it'd be fair to assume that it'll be protected by Steamworks meaning that you'll need to be logged into your Steam account to play the game. That does not stop you from copying its folders for backup purposes though.

    Something worth mentioning is that some Steam games doesn't even come with Steamworks protection meaning that they can be freely copied without problems, however until the game is released there's no telling whether or not the Steam release will feature Steamworks or not.

    The demo from Steam appears to play just fine without Steam running though.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many steam games only require you to be logged onto Steam to launch the game, but after that take no role in the game's operation (other than the community center accessible via a preconfigured hotkey). I often use this to my advantage to launch a game on one computer, log off, log in onto another computer, then launch the game again to play multiplayer.

    This doesn't work with every game though, as some games will force you out of the game if you log off.
     
  4. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
  5. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Some Steam games do not require Steam to be running.

    eg most games that use Dosbox (The older games in the id Super Pack etc) can be run without Steam.
     
  6. eltrut
    OP

    Member eltrut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks all, I think i'll just give steam a miss and go with Diablo1123's link, I saw it before but thought stem would save me two dollars /cheapskate [​IMG]
     
  7. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I do not have the Steam version, but I will find out for you =D
    More than likely, it is just the .exe that is different.

    edit:
    Yes it does have DRM like I said, if you replace the exe with the DRM-free one. That's normally the only change.
     
  8. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page