Softmod on 4.2U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bleroy, May 19, 2010.

May 19, 2010

Softmod on 4.2U by Bleroy at 1:26 AM (1,703 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having an issue with the last part of the tutorial, I am able to fakesign IOS36 and all that. When I get to the part of deleting the other IOS's 202"s version is not available and wont allow me to delete. All the others allow me to delete it seems but they still say this IOS is a stubb. any ideas?
     
  2. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    When you say a problem with last part of the tutorial......

    your using the "remove stubbed ios" part of the main guide right?

    If your doing so, that part of multi mod manager should allow you to remove each stubbed ios


    You're not deleting each ios on its own are you in ios manager?


    Also, the above guide only mentions removing stubbed IOS 222, 223, 249, 250, 254 etc.


    Which then allows you to install the new cIOS versions needed.
     
  3. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    which tutorial are you using?

    if its removing stub ios(like armand said) and you're using DOP-Mii,it has option to remove stubbed ios,then you can fakesign it afterwards
     
  4. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
  5. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

  6. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I think it did work because I move to IOS254 and it has v260 (STUB) after it, what was throwing me off was the big yellow This version is a stub! the others now say not installed

    should I go ahead and remove 254 as well?
     
  7. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    why not?CSG is for noobs,who want to understand what they're doing.That guide is the best,for noobs too,but it doesn't tell you much what you're doing(i believe it says that,or maybe it's just me)

    also,remove all the stubs you see in DOP-Mii,and don't forget to make a backup
     
  8. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    your right, it is for noobs, hence why i said tech illiterate lol

    but going for a more descriptive guide in no ways helps a tech noob become knowledgeable, if anything it leads to more confusion, this post is proof of it lol.


    Hope all finishes well for you man, you aint far from the finish.
     
  9. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys, I whacked 254 as well. I know not to delete anything under 200 so I didnt even go there [​IMG]
     
  10. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    haha yeh man,

    having seen a few recent "i deleted ios70 and my wii dont work no more" topics lately, glad to hear it lol
     
  11. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Should I pick up installing custom IOS's from the tutorial you guys pointed me at?

    I knew nothing of soft modding till i saw it in PC world and they pretty much told me to update to 4.2 first which after I read a bit prob wasn't the best way
     
  12. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    BTW what's that cIOS that looks like its slated for IOS70?
     
  13. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad

    this one??


    This is a patched version of IOS70, aka, the IOS your system menu runs off.

    Patched allows your wad manager installed wads to play from the SD channel among other things. If you dont have a patched 70, you wont be able to get most custom wads working from sd.

    Once you've removed all the stubbed IOS files, then YES installing those 6 wad files needed

    cIOS 202 (38+60)V4.wad
    cIOS 222 (38+37)V4.wad
    cIOS 223 (38) V4.wad
    cIOS 249 (57) V19.wad
    cIOS 250 (38) V19.wad
    IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad


    will have you all good to go
     
  14. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Yes thanks guys. I'm all done now. just finished priiloader [​IMG]

    Do I have to keep the priloader program on my card? do I delete the aktn and the boot elf?
     
  15. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    you can remove all three from your sd card

    boot.elf
    aktn
    priiloader

    boot.elf was the hackmii installer
    aktn was bannerbomb
    priiloader is already installed on your system
    you can access it by holding reset while you turn on your system.
     
  16. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    Enjoy your softmod Bleroy, you should be set for pretty much all wii games and wiiware and vc and emulators now man.

    Well, cept prince of persia lol.



    What do you intend to use for games, USB HDD or disks?
     
  17. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking USB, I have already formatted the drive to WBFS. Now I am trying to figure out which loader will work best with the IOS249 rev19

    And thanx again guys for the help. [​IMG]
     
  18. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I went with configurable, luv it!!!

    not sure why anyone would deal with discs when you have this.

    Is there any kinda size limit on usb drives? [​IMG]
     
  19. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    ive heard of a few 2tb drives that work but not sure what ones.
     
  20. Bleroy
    OP

    Newcomer Bleroy Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'll hafta do some reading [​IMG]

    But it shouldnt be a problem to move them with a wbfs manager right? when I eventually change drives
     

Share This Page