Skyward Sword Issue

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Teep, Nov 11, 2011.

Nov 11, 2011

Skyward Sword Issue by Teep at 2:50 PM (3,337 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Teep
    OP

    Member Teep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to run the NTSC release via Wiiflow (latest d2x) IOS rev 249. It locks up at the wii flow loading after I hit "start". Please help.

    Same happens with CFG. It stops " loading", there are some cracking sounds.

    I just remembered that this has the WMP instructional video on it, and I recall having to do something with wii sports resort before I could play that. Same thing?


    EIDT 2: Just tried it with the player.dol, to no avail. I get partial sound (of the instructional video) but no video.
     
  2. ShadowSonic2

    Newcomer ShadowSonic2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Green Hill Zone
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Try turning iOS Reload Block to on in your Settings menu and see if that helps.
     
  3. mjlahey

    Newcomer mjlahey Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't find any other mention of Skyward Sword (not the demo) on the boards. Does this mean it's working for everyone else?
     
  4. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    It means that the game was released less than a couple hours ago and most people don't even have access to it (myself included, though I've been acquiring it painfully slowly the last couple hours).
     
  5. farcry15

    Member farcry15 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    it has the same protection as the new kirby. everywhere im seeing skyward sword posted it has the fix included, which is just d2xv7 and the latest wiiflow build
     
  6. TerraPhantm

    Member TerraPhantm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't test it in a USBLoader, but it works perfectly in UNEEK. Demo worked fine with the USB loader though
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If it's the same protection the kirby game has, then the fix is to use the proper settings(no patching of the game whatsoever). And then it will work in ALL loaders, not just that one.
     
  8. Teep
    OP

    Member Teep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    I figured it out eventually - had to force PAL video mode.
     
  9. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    :wtf: Very odd since the game is neither PAL and if your forum ID is to be believed, you live in the US.
     
  10. buckminster

    Newcomer buckminster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Similar issue here, loading in cfg USB loader on a PAL Wii, when I select the game I hear a slight cracking noise and then I am returned to the system menu. I tried in the game options to no avail. wat do?
     
  11. doesntwork

    Newcomer doesntwork Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    same problem, tried everything. all I get is that the game returns to the wii menu.
     
  12. buckminster

    Newcomer buckminster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    full disclosure: I'm a huge noob.
    Someone said in the other thread "Set autoreload IOS to enabled."

    how do I do this?
     
  13. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    What would cause the alt dol option and block ios reload options to be greyed out?
     
  14. buckminster

    Newcomer buckminster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    "It might be trying to run the motion+ explanation movie and can't. Try switching your alternate DOL to "player.dol" and launching the game, watching the stupid effing movie, and then quitting and switching the DOL back to the default."

    WTF DOES THIS MEAN

    Please help!!!!!!!!!!

    EDIT: I figured it out myself. Anyone with the same problem using cfg USB Loader go to game options > alt dol > player.dol, when it plays and goes back to the system menu you are good to go.
     
  15. doesntwork

    Newcomer doesntwork Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    can confirm that one, its strange however that not everyone got that problem. anyway Iam glad that it works now
     
  16. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    This option is greyed out for a friend of mine but not for me. We are both using the same base IOS for cfg. What could I have that he doesn't?
     
  17. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Worked "out of the box" (iso) for me. Havnt had a single issue. My Wii pwns :P
     
  18. IceIceBird

    Member IceIceBird GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Sweden
    Tell him to update cfg loader to newest version and also to the newest d2x cIOS.
     
  19. stickybit

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just letting peeps know
    its working perfect on 3.2e pal softmod wii using usbGX
     
  20. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    I'll tell you something guys.

    FIRST. To the people with the greyed out icon, use the latest D2X cIOS. It will enable these. Also, update your USB Loader to the latest version.

    Secondly. ONLY PEOPLE WHO HAVE NEVER PLAYED A MOTIONPLUS GAME BEFORE NEED TO USE THE ALT DOL FOR PLAYER.DOL (if you do, mute your TV, it sounds like shitrapingyourears)

    You can simply stick Wii Sports Resort (LEgit Disk or backup, but look online to see how to get backup working) in your Wii and play it wit MotionPlus for like 10 seconds instead, if the alternate DOL switch doesn't work.
     

Share This Page